The Frontstretch: That's History! NASCAR's Checkered (Flag) Past, One Story at a Time: All the Answers by Amy Henderson -- Thursday June 30, 2005

Go to site navigation Go to article
If you recall, a couple of weeks ago, before I had the time of my life at Victory Junction Gang Camp (more on that later) I posed a challenge to all you NASCAR history buffs and possessors of useless facts.  I did not receive any A-plus papers, as it were. 
However, one thing I have learned from giving out many, many quizzes and tests (my kids would say too many!) is that it makes those who made their best attempt happiest if they are given the correct answers to compare to.  Since I’m a nice person, I won’t leave people hanging.  So, here they are.
  1. The winner of the first Craftsman Truck Series race at Evergreen Speedway was Mike Skinner.  The winner of the last race held there was Joe Ruttman.
  2. The year in which Busch Series rookie Blake Feese was Sprint Car Rookie of the Year in at Jacksonville Speedway in Illinois was 1999.
  3. The person who taught Kenny Wallace how to drive for the first time was family friend Ken Schrader.
  4. The drivers to score the first victories for Chevrolet, Hudson, and AMC were Fonty Flock, Marshall Teague, and Mark Donohue, respectively.
  5. The seven drivers to win four straight Cup races are: Cale Yarborough, Darrell Waltrip, Harry Gant, Dale Earnhardt, Bill Elliott, Mark Martin, and Jeff Gordon.
  6. The first Busch Series Rookie of the year was Kenny Wallace.  The series first honored its top rookie in 1989.
  7. Ken Schrader and Kyle Petty have 13 combined top-ten finishes in Cup season standings; Schrader has eight appearances onstage at the banquet, Petty five.
  8. The driver with the most miles raced in the Craftsman Truck Series from its inception through the 2004 season is Rick Crawford, who logged 32,951.5 miles in that time.
  9. The Busch Series driver with the most top-ten finishes in a season is Sam Ard, with 30 top-tens in 1983.
  10. The Craftsman Truck Series driver who holds the series record for the most consecutive wins at one track is Brendan Gaughan, who won four straight at Texas Speedway on 2002-03.

So, there you have it.  I hope you enjoyed learning these tidbits as much as I enjoyed coming up with them.  Now, you never know when there might be another pop quiz, but until then, just think: that’s history!

The Frontstretch Newsletter, back in 2014 gives you more of the daily news, commentary, and racing features from your favorite writers you know and love. Don’t waste another minute – click here to sign up now. We’re here to make sure you stay informed … so make sure you jump on for the ride!

Today on the Frontstretch:
Championship Caliber? What Does That Even Mean?
Mirror Driving: Winning Vs. Points, Needing a Boost, and The Lady’s Last Dance?
Nuts for Nationwide: The Curious Case of Elliott Sadler
Happiness Is…Arrogance, Less, Next, and the Outdoors
Frontstretch Foto Funnies: It’s Not Gonna Fit…


©2000 - 2008 Amy Henderson and Thanks for visiting the Frontstretch!


Contact Amy Henderson

Recent articles from Amy Henderson:

Earnhardt Ganassi Racing Announces Partnership with Cessna, Textron
Fans To Decide Format of Sprint Unlimited at Daytona
UNOH and Kentucky Speedway Extend Sponsorship Agreement
Earnhardt Out For Charlotte and Kansas After Talldega Concussion
Piquet, Jr. Wins K&N East Opener

Want to know more about Amy or see an archive of all of her articles? Check out her bio page for more information.