The Frontstretch: Ganassi Celebrates 25th Racing Season in 2014 by Amy Henderson -- Tuesday January 28, 2014

Go to site navigation Go to article

Ganassi Celebrates 25th Racing Season in 2014

Amy Henderson · Tuesday January 28, 2014


Chip Ganassi Racing Teams will be celebrating in 2014 as seven cars take to the track in three major racing series for the 25th year of the organization’s involvement in motorsports. Team owner Chip Ganassi started his racing empire in 1990 with his open-wheel teams, and the organization has grown to include teams in IndyCar, NASCAR, and IMSA. Since its inception, CGRT has amassed 150 race wins and 17 championships, and Ganassi is also the only car owner in history to have victories in the Indiapolis 500 (4), the Daytona 500 (1), the brickyard 400 (1), and the Rolex 24 at Daytona (5).

This year, Ganassi will field two cars in the NASCAR Sprint Cup Series, with Daytona 500 and Brickyard 400 winner Jamie McMurray and Rookie of the Year contender Kyle Larson leading the charge from behind the wheel. His IndyCar teams will feature Indianapolis 500 champion Tony Kanaan, reigning series champion Scott Dixon, Charlie Kimball, and Ryan Briscoe. Scott Pruett and Memo Rojas will compete in IMSA in 2014.

The Frontstretch Newsletter, back in 2014 gives you more of the daily news, commentary, and racing features from your favorite writers you know and love. Don’t waste another minute – click here to sign up now. We’re here to make sure you stay informed … so make sure you jump on for the ride!

Today on the Frontstretch:
Racing to the Point: NASCAR Has Its Own Heartbreak Kid
Beyond the Cockpit: Brittany Force, the Fastest Force
Voices from the Cheap Seats: Advertising for Dummies
Who’s Hot / Who’s Not in Sprint Cup: Off Week-Richmond Edition
Couch Potato Tuesday: Picking The Best IndyCar On-Air Personalities


©2000 - 2008 Amy Henderson and Thanks for visiting the Frontstretch!