The Frontstretch: Sprint All-Star Race to remain unchanged, Sprint Showdown moves to Friday by Mike Neff -- Tuesday January 28, 2014

Go to site navigation Go to article

At lunch time on Tuesday the Sprint NASCAR Media Tour presented by Charlotte Motor Speedway traveled to the Speedway for the annual announcement about the format for the All-Star weekend. The format for the main event, the NASCAR Sprint All-Star Race will remain unchanged. The race will be five segments with 20 laps run in each of the first four. A pit stop to change four tires will occur after the fourth segment with cars entering pit lane based on their average finishing position over the first four segments.

A change that will take place is the NASCAR Sprint Showdown will take place on Friday night, in conjunction with the North Carolina Education Lottery Camping World Truck race. Teams that advance to the NASCAR Sprint All-Star race will be allowed to fix their cars overnight before qualifying on Saturday.

The NASCAR Sprint Showdown is two segments, with 20 laps in each segment. The top two finishers will transfer to the All-Star race. The fans will vote a driver into the race again this year in a voting process that will run from March 20th through May 16th. The qualifying for the All-Star race on Saturday night will once again feature a hot pit stop with no pit road speed limit. The total time of three laps, including the four tire pit stop, will set the lineup for the feature event.

The All-Star race again will have five segments, with four of them lasting twenty laps each with a four tire stop after the fourth. The field will be lined up based on average finish in the first four segments before they come down pit lane for the pit stop. The order the cars leave pit road will be the starting lineup for the final, 10 lap sprint to the finish.

The winner of the event will take home one million dollars along with some bonus money for laps led. The showdown winner on Friday night will pocket over $50,000. Drivers already eligible for the event include Jimmie Johnson, Carl Edwards, Matt Kenseth, Kasey Kahne, Kyle Busch, Kevin Harvick, David Ragan, Tony Stewart, Greg Biffle, Martin Truex Jr., Brian Vickers, Ryan Newman, Joey Logano, Brad Keselowski, Jamie McMurray, Jeff Gordon, Denny Hamlin and Kurt Busch.

The Frontstretch Newsletter, back in 2014 gives you more of the daily news, commentary, and racing features from your favorite writers you know and love. Don’t waste another minute – click here to sign up now. We’re here to make sure you stay informed … so make sure you jump on for the ride!

Today on the Frontstretch:
Beyond the Cockpit: Alexis DeJoria On The 300 mph Women of the NHRA
A Swan’s Broken Wings Equal NASCAR’s Next Concern?
Thinkin’ Out Loud – The Off Week Season Review
Pace Laps: Swan Racing’s Future, Fast Females and Dropping Out
Sprint Cup Series Facilities Can Build Upon Fan Experience by Looking to Their Roots


©2000 - 2008 Mike Neff and Thanks for visiting the Frontstretch!