The Frontstretch: Chad Blount wins in ARCA competition at Kansas Speedway by Nikki Krone -- Saturday July 2, 2005

Go to site navigation Go to article

Chad Blount wins in ARCA competition at Kansas Speedway

Nikki Krone · Saturday July 2, 2005


CHAD BLOUNT IS YOUR WINNER!  Kyle Krisiloff finished second, Frank Kimmel finished third.  

With ten laps remaining, the No. 67 of Chad Blount broke a sway bar sending a shower of sparks on the track.  Blount was slowed in the last few laps, allowing Krisiloff to gain on him, but Blount's initially lead was big enough to give him the cushion he needed to pull off the victory.

  1. Chad Blount/Walkerton IN
  2. Kyle Krisiloff/Indianapolis IN
  3. Frank Kimmel/Clarksville IN
  4. Bobby Gerhart/Lebanon PA
  5. Joey Miller/Farmington MN
  6. Jason Jarrett/Hickory NC
  7. Darrell Basham/Henryville IN
  8. Bill Eversole/Chelsea MI
  9. Andy Belmont/Penndel PA
  10. Chad McCumbee/Supply NC
  11. Brandon Knupp/Sidney OH
  12. Mark Gibson/Winder GA
  13. Justin Allgaier/Springfield IL
  14. Todd Bowsher/Springfield OH
  15. Ron Cox/Soddy Daisy TN
  16. Johnny Leonard/Cape Coral FL
  17. Dean Mac Innis/Whycocomagh, N.S.
  18. Zach Chappell/Tulsa OK
  19. Norm Benning/Pittsburgh PA
  20. Billy Deckman/Kansas City MO
  21. Jason Basham/Henryville IN
  22. James Hylton/Inman SC
  23. Tim Turner/Pulaski TN
  24. Burt Ingle/Asheville NC
  25. Dominic Vara/Jupiter FL
  26. Mike Harmon/Birmingport AL
  27. Scott Traylor/Kansas City MO
  28. Mike Guerity/Rochester Hills MI
  29. Christi Passmore/Pryor OK
  30. JJ Sonneveldt/Platte City MO
  31. Joe Wallace/Winchester KS
  32. Tim Mitchell/Fayetteville TN
  33. Ken Weaver/Dallas TX
  34. Ryan Howard/Tipp City OH
  35. John O'Neal Jr/Kansas City KS
  36. Benny Chastain/Tallahassee FL
  37. Wayne Peterson/Pulaski TN
  38. Tony Ackerland/Starr ID
  39. Brad Smith/Belleville MI
  40. Josh Krug/Omaha NE

PORK POLE AWARD: Joey Miller 32.977 (163.750 mph)
MRGN OF VICT:  1.049 seconds
TIME OF RACE:  1:46:40 
LAP LEADERS:  Miller 1-29, 45-64 (49); Bowsher 30-33 (4); Gibson 34-44 (11); Krisiloff 65-69 (5); Cox 70-
76 (7); Blount 77-134 (58)

Update 7:30 pm CST: With 3 laps to go, Blount has sparks coming out from the bottom of his car.  He still leads, but Krisiloff is catching him FAST!

Update 7:08 pm CST: With 25 laps to go, Chad Blount is still your leader.  Kyle Krisiloff is second, followed by Kimmel, Johnny Leonard, Jason Jarrett, and Chad McCumbee.  Joey Miller is the last car on the lead lap in 10th.

Update 6:49 pm CST:  Chad Bount has taken the lead, but Kyle Krisiloff is moving up too!

Update 6:46 pm CST:  Green flag!!  Ron Cox is your leader, followed by Dean Mac Innis, Justin Allgaier, Norm Benning (the top four drivers did not pit), Krisiloff, Chad Blount, Bill Eversole, Frank Kimmel, Billiy Deckman and Johnny Leonard.

Update 6:41 pm CST: Caution has fallen again at the Kansas Speedway.  Kyle Krisiloff is the leader, after something obviously went amis with the No. 09 car of Joey Miller.  The cars are now making their way down pit road for tires, fuel and needed adjustments.

Update 6:35 pm CST:  There are currently 14 cars listed as off the track with 73 laps to go.  Joey Miller still leads Krisiloff, Bount, Kimmel and McCumbee.

Update 6:25 pm CST:  Caution in Turn 3 for the No. 4 of Mike Guerity.  The top 10 are: Joey Miller, Kyle Krisiloff, Chad Blount, Frank Kimmel, Chad McCumbee, Bill Eversole, Mark Gibson, Jason Jarrett, Johnny Leonard, and Dean Mac Innis.

Update 6:22 pm CST:  We are green with 90 to go.  The No. 59 was in the lead before being passed by both the pole sitter Joey Miller and Frank Kimmel.

Update 6:19 pm CST:  Still under caution for the wreck involving JJ Sonneveldt.  Sonneveldt was evaluated and released from the infield care center.

Update 6:06 pm CST: New leader, the No. 59 of Mark Gibson.  Joey Miller was attempting to make the pass for that position but the caution flies once again for a shard spin involving the No. 06 of JJ Sonneveldt (a local racer).

Update 6:00 pm CST:  We are on our second caution since the last update (dang internet connection).  The No. 75 of Dominic Vara has spun in the grass, bringing out the third caution of the race. 

The top-10 prior to the caution was Joey Miller, Frank Kimmel, Chad Blount, Chad McCumbee, Kyle Krisiloff, Jason Jarrett, Mark Gibson, Bill Eversole, Ron Cox, and Johnny Leonard.  Many cars pitted during the caution, so the leader of the race will be the No. 21 of Todd Bowsher.

We are green again, with Joey Miller leading Frank Kimmel.

Caution is out after the No. 70 of Joe Wallace spun on the track.

Update 5:35 CST: The race is GREEN!!

The drivers of the ARCA Re/Max Series are preparing for the Kansas Lottery $200 Grand at the Kansas Speedway, which is scheduled to being shortly.  We will have live updates right here on The Frontstretch, so stay tuned!!

The Frontstretch Newsletter, back in 2014 gives you more of the daily news, commentary, and racing features from your favorite writers you know and love. Don’t waste another minute – click here to sign up now. We’re here to make sure you stay informed … so make sure you jump on for the ride!

Today on the Frontstretch:
Racing to the Point: NASCAR Has Its Own Heartbreak Kid
Beyond the Cockpit: Brittany Force, the Fastest Force
Voices from the Cheap Seats: Advertising for Dummies
Who’s Hot / Who’s Not in Sprint Cup: Off Week-Richmond Edition
Couch Potato Tuesday: Picking The Best IndyCar On-Air Personalities


©2000 - 2008 Nikki Krone and Thanks for visiting the Frontstretch!


Contact Nikki Krone

If you want to know more about Nikki Krone or to view all her articles, check out her bio and archive page.