Go to content Go to navigation Go to recent PR reports Go to search

Silver Shark Tops Corn Belt Clash Field at Cedar Lake

Saturday August 4, 2012


Scott James grabbed the big check at Cedar Lake along with a guaranteed spot into the USA Nationals.

A USA Nationals opening night record of 57 cars entered the $5,000-to-win
Corn Belt Clash Series event at Cedar Lake and as the final checkered
fell, it was the ‘Silver Shark’ Scott James who took home the win, and
more importantly, a provisional starting spot in Saturday’s $50,000-to-win
USA Nationals.

The field coming to salute the fans four wide.

At the drop of the green flag, it was pole sitter Darrell Lanigan who shot
out to the early lead, but after a single lap, the events only caution
flew for a slowing AJ Diemel. On the restart, Lannigan shot back out into
the lead, followed closely by Scott James and Tim Isenberg. As the top
three began to separate themselves from the field, it was B-Feature
winners Brandon Sheppard and Scott Bloomquist who began to make noise as
they charged from deep in the field. Sheppard broke into the top-10 in the
first 15 laps with Bloomquist not far behind.

Shirley and Kent Robinson battling hard.

As ‘The Bluegrass Bandit’ Lanigan worked heavy traffic, James was able to
close the distance and pull even with him several times and on lap 30,
James used a strong move on the top-side to take the lead. Five laps
later, as the #0 car of Scott Bloomquist broke into the top-5, it was the #1 Rocket House car of Brandon Sheppard who slowed and turned into the

Scott James takes the checkered flag at Cedar Lake.

With 10 to go, a hard charging Don O’Neal made himself known as he drove
past Bloomquist into the top-5 in the Mouring Motorsports #1 entry. As the
laps ticked down, Lanigan bobbled in turn two allowing Kindl LLC Business
Solutions Quick Six winner Brian Shirley to blast into the runner-up
position as the leaders took the white flag. As they leaders passed under
the flying white, Scott Bloomquist slowed, dropping him from contention as
James roared down the back stretch of historic Cedar Lake Speedway. James
was able to pull ahead and capture his first career Corn Belt Clash Series
victory followed by Brian Shirley and Darrell Lanigan. Kent Robinson and
Don O’Neal rounded out the top-5 with current CBC point leader Chris
Simpson coming home sixth followed by Frank Heckenast Jr,, Tim Isenberg,
Dennis Erb and Jimmy Mars, who rounded out the top-10.

Brian Shirley took the win in the Quick Six race.

The Corn Belt Clash Series roars back into action next Friday night,
August 10th at the Chateau Raceway in Lansing, Minnesota and the following
night makes the trek to the Jackson County Speedway in Maquoketa, Iowa for
the sith annual Dusty Kay Memorial.

Isky Racing Cams Heat Race #1 Winner: Paul Parker
Comp Cams Heat Race #2 Winner: Scott James
JE Pistons Heat Race #3 Winner: Kent Robinson
Cen-Pe-Co Lubricants Heat Race #4 Winner: Darrell Lanigan
Manley Performance Heat Race #5: AJ Diemel
KindlLLC.com Business Solutions Quick Six Winner: Brian Shirley
Hoosier Racing Tire B-Main #1 Winner: Brandon Sheppard
RACE B-Main #2 Winner: Scott Bloomquist
CBC Provisional Starter: Chris Simpson

Cars were racing from the top to the bottom at Cedar Lake.

Feature Finish:

1. Scott James
2. Brian Shirley
3. Darrell Lanigan
4. Kent Robinson
5. Don O’Neal
6. Chris Simpson
7. Frank Heckenast Jr.
8. Tim Isenberg
9. Dennis Erb
10. Jimmy Mars
11. Mike Spatola
12. Jack Sullivan
13. Scott Bloomquist
14. Tim McCreadie
15. Paul Parker
16. Ross Componovo
17. Shane Clanton
18. Brandon Sheppard
19. Chub Frank
20. Mike Marlar
21. Walker Arthur
22. Vic Coffee
23. Chris Simpson
24. Clint Smith
25. AJ Diemel

Hooker Custom Harness Hard Charger Award: Jimmy Mars
AllStar Performance Performer of the Race Award: Scott Bloomquist
QuickCar Racing Products Award: Jason Rauen
Landrum Performance Springs Award: Tim Isenberg
JE Pistons Awards: Chad Simpson
Comp Cams Award: Chris Simpson
Quarter Master Award: Charlie McKenna
CV Products Award: Tim Isenberg
Hoosier WRS D-55 Tire Draw Winner: Kent Robinson

Corn Belt Clash Official Series Sponsors: JE Pistons, R.A.C.E, Comp Cams,
Hoosier Racing Tire, Manley Performance, Isky Racing Cams and Cen-Pe-Co

Corn Belt Clash Participating Sponsors: AllStar Performance, QuickCar
Racing Products, Callies Performance Products and Two Buff Dudes Inc.

Corn Belt Clash Contingency Sponsors: CV Products, Intercomp Racing
Scales, Tiger Rear Ends, Landrum Performance Springs, Hooker Custom
Harness, KindlLLC.com Business Solutions, Pro Power Racing Engines, Grove
Automotive, OutPace Racing Products, Signs by Design, The Contingency
Connection, Countryside Creations, Dirt Late Model Magazine, Bully Dog and
Karsyn’s Krusaders

Intercomp Racing Scales are the Official Scales of the Corn Belt Clash
Late Model Series.

Dirt Late Model Magazine is the Official Publication of the Corn Belt
Clash Late Model Series.

Karsyn’s Krusaders is the Official Non-Profit Organization of the Corn
Belt Clash Late Model Series.

For more info on the Corn Belt Clash Series, go to www.CornBeltClash.com.
We are also on Facebook!

The Frontstretch Newsletter, back in 2014 gives you more of the daily news, commentary, and racing features from your favorite writers you know and love. Don’t waste another minute – click here to sign up now. We’re here to make sure you stay informed … so make sure you jump on for the ride!

Today on the Frontstretch:
Championship Caliber? What Does That Even Mean?
Mirror Driving: Winning Vs. Points, Needing a Boost, and The Lady’s Last Dance?
Nuts for Nationwide: The Curious Case of Elliott Sadler
Happiness Is…Arrogance, Less, Next, and the Outdoors
Frontstretch Foto Funnies: It’s Not Gonna Fit…

This report was provided by an outside PR source and posted by Mike Neff.


©2000 - 2008 Mike Neff and Frontstetch.com. Thanks for visiting the Frontstretch!