Go to content Go to navigation Go to recent PR reports Go to search

Exciting Racing Highlights August 4th Racing at Florence Motor Speedway

Monday August 6, 2012


The moon wasn’t quite full on Saturday night, but you wouldn’t have know the way the racing action went down on the track. The Super Stock division has become one of the most exciting divisions this year, taking that title from the Stock 4
division. Wayne Locklair and Stacy Matthews would battle for the win until a late race spin would hand Matthews the win.

Locklair would start from the pole and dominate early. The first caution of the night would see Todd Amerson and Stacy Matthews get together in turn one sending Amerson around. The field would get the green flag and Matthews would turn to Locklair. Both would run side by side for several laps with Locklair getting the better of Matthews until a late race move to the inside would see Locklair go around in turn one. On the restart, Brian Tadlock would spun bring out the final caution of
the night. Matthews would lead the field back to green and cruise to his first win of the season. Will Hutson, Todd Amerson, Wayne Locklair and Tyler Price would round out the top five.

The Stock 4 Cylinder division would move on to the speedway next with Bobby Tumbleston III leading the field to green. Tumbleston would be the class of the field holding off Josh Lee for numerous laps. The only caution of the night would be for Darrell Newton who would spun in turn four just past halfway. Tumbleston III would cross the line ahead of Lee, Toby Milligan, Bobby Tumbleston Sr and Darrell Newton.

The Coastal Pee Dee Super Truck Series would make its second trip to the track on Satruday night. Fifteen trucks would start the feature with Jimmy Herrington leading the field to green. The first caution of the night would come out when BJ Hucks, Joey Shuryan and Mike Eplee would all get damage from a spin in turn two. The restart would see Herrington lead Hal Goodson and Clay Thomas. Both Goodson and Thomas would put on a show for second. Goodson would hold the position through the entire race. The final caution of the night would come out when
Mike Eplee would cut a tire and bring his truck to a halt in turn one.
Once again, Herrington would pull away from the field and see the
checkered flag first. Hal Goodson, Clay Thomas, Tyler Howell and Todd
Kelley would round out the top five.

Next week, the Late Models return to the track for fifty laps of
action. Also racing will be the Super Stocks and Stock 4 Cylinders.
The go-kart track outside of turn one will also be running.

Admission is just $10 to the stands and $20 for a pit pass.

For more information on the Florence Motor Speedway, visit

Super Trucks (50 Laps)
1. #6 Jimmy Herrington
2. #13 Hal Goodson
3. #99 Clay Thomas
4. #22 Tyler Howell
5. #5 Todd Kelley
6. #98 Kevin Parsons
7. #16 Hayes Goodson
8. #18 Neal Grant
9. #41 Jack Vuncannon
10. #26 Chad Shoaf
11. #00 Jamie Weatherford
12. #03 Kerry Lawerence
13. #86 Mike Eplee
14. #30 Joey Shuryan
15. #7 BJ Hucks

Super Stock (30 Laps)
1. #51 Stacy Matthews
2. #81 Will Hutson
3. #9 Todd Amerson
4. #56 Wayne Locklair
5. #18 Tyler Price
6. #1 Adam Dowling
7. #56 Brian Tadlock
8. #87 Brad Dewitt

Stock 4 Cylinders (25 Laps)
1. #00 Bobby Tumbleston III
2. #55 Josh Lee
3. #7 Toby Milligan
4. #33 Bobby Tumbleston Sr
5. #45 Darrell Newton
6. #04 Rodney Poole

The Frontstretch Newsletter, back in 2014 gives you more of the daily news, commentary, and racing features from your favorite writers you know and love. Don’t waste another minute – click here to sign up now. We’re here to make sure you stay informed … so make sure you jump on for the ride!

Today on the Frontstretch:
Championship Caliber? What Does That Even Mean?
Mirror Driving: Winning Vs. Points, Needing a Boost, and The Lady’s Last Dance?
Nuts for Nationwide: The Curious Case of Elliott Sadler
Happiness Is…Arrogance, Less, Next, and the Outdoors
Frontstretch Foto Funnies: It’s Not Gonna Fit…

This report was provided by an outside PR source and posted by Mike Neff.


©2000 - 2008 Mike Neff and Frontstetch.com. Thanks for visiting the Frontstretch!