Go to content Go to navigation Go to recent PR reports Go to search

Steve Shaver and Steve Francis on Front Row for Saturday's USA 100 at Virginia Motor Speedway

Saturday September 15, 2012


Steve Shaver of Vienna, WV and Steve Francis of Ashland, KY will start on the front row of the 33rd Annual USA 100 on Saturday Night at Bill Sawyer’s Virginia Motor Speedway. The Lucas Oil Late Model Dirt Series-sanctioned event will pay $20,000 to win.

Shaver and Francis each captured their 25-lap qualifying heat races on Friday Night. Jared Landers of Batesville, AR and Jamie Lathroum of Mechanicsville, MD will make-up row number two tomorrow evening.

Shaver in the K&L Rumley Enterprises, Rocket Chassis Chevrolet took the lead at the start of the first 25-lapper. The caution flew with one lap complete when LOLMDS point’s leader, Jimmy Owens of Newport, TN spun in turn number two. Chris Madden of Gaffney, SC challenged Shaver for most of the race until a caution with three laps to go cost Madden a runner-up finish. Landers was able to outgun Madden on the restart as he stayed close to Shaver until the checkers flew.

Madden came home third, followed by Dale McDowell of Chickamauga, GA; Earl Pearson Jr. of Jacksonville, FL; Scott Bloomquist of Mooresburg, TN; Owens; and Kenny Moreland of Waldorf, MD were the final drivers to transfer to tomorrow night’s 50-lap main event from qualifying heat number one.

Francis in the Valvoline, Barry Wright Race Cars Chevy stormed to the lead at the start of the second 25-lap qualifier. Lathroum stayed within striking distance of Francis early on in the race, but Francis clearly had the best car on the track as he pulled away to more than a straightaway lead in the late stages of the qualifier. Lathroum was able to hold off the trio of Jonathan Davenport of Blairsville, GA; John Blankenship of Williamson, WV; and Don O’Neal of Martinsville, IN to earn the fourth starting spot in tomorrow’s USA 100.

The final three drivers to make it out of qualifying heat number two were Austin Hubbard of Seaford, DE; Jerry Bard of Shippensburg, PA; and Jeremy Miler of Gettysburg, PA.

In preliminary action, Jimmy Owens set the Red Buck Fast Time amongst the 25 entrants, with a lap of 17.456 seconds. David Williams set the fastest time in Group B with a time of 17.673 seconds. Steve Shaver and Steve Francis won their respective Heat Races. and won their respective B-Mains.

Tomorrow Night, the USA 100 at Virginia Motor Speedway will continue for the Lucas Oil Late Model Dirt Series. Action on the track will kick off at 6:30PM with Hot Laps, B-Main, and the 50-Lap main event, worth $20,000-to-win. For more information, log onto www.vamotorspeedway.com.

For the latest breaking news on the Lucas Oil Late Model Dirt Series, log onto www.lucasdirt.com and be sure to follow the series at www.facebook.com/lucasdirt and www.twitter.com/#!/lucasdirt.

*Lucas Oil Late Model Dirt Series
Race Summary*

Friday Night, September 14th, 2012
USA 100”
Virginia Motor Speedway – Jamaica, VA

Red Buck Fast Time Group A: Jimmy Owens / 17.456 seconds

Red Buck Fast Time Group B: David Williams / 17.673 seconds

Wiles Driveshafts First Heat (25 Laps – Top 8 Transfer): Steve Shaver, Jared Landers, Chris Madden, Dale McDowell, Earl Pearson, Jr., Scott Bloomquist, Jimmy Owens, Kenny Moreland, Dean Bowen, Ricky Elliott , Eric Wells, Walker Arthur, Tyler Reddick

U. S. Steel Second Heat (25 Laps – Top 8 Transfer): Steve Francis, Jamie Lathroum, Jonathan Davenport, John Blankenship, Don O’Neal, Austin Hubbard, Jerry Bard, Jeremy Miller, David Williams, Matt Quade, David Watts, Daniel Stone

JRi Shocks B-Main Line Up (15 Laps – Top 3 Transfer):


Dean Bowen 5n 72 David Williams
Ricky Elliott 88 47 Matt Quade
Eric Wells 18e 04 David Watts
Walker Arthur 87 21d Daniel Stone
Tyler Reddick 11T

Feature Line Up (Heat Transfers, prior to B-Main):


Steve Shaver 6s 15 Steve Francis
Jared Landers 5 6L Jamie Lathroum
Chris Madden 44m 15d Jonathan Davenport
Dale McDowell 2 23 John Blankenship
Earl Pearson, Jr. 44 71 Don O’Neal
Scott Bloomquist 0 11h Austin Hubbard
Jimmy Owens 20 26 Jerry Bard
Kenny Moreland 24m 1m Jeremy Miller

The Frontstretch Newsletter, back in 2014 gives you more of the daily news, commentary, and racing features from your favorite writers you know and love. Don’t waste another minute – click here to sign up now. We’re here to make sure you stay informed … so make sure you jump on for the ride!

Today on the Frontstretch:
Did You Notice? … Breaking Down A Sprint Cup Season Eight Races In
Beyond the Cockpit: Ricky Stenhouse, Jr. on Growing Up Racing and Owner Loyalties
The Frontstretch Five: Flaws Exposed In the New Chase So Far
NASCAR Writer Power Rankings: Top 15 After Darlington
NASCAR Mailbox: Past Winners Aren’t Winning …. Yet
Open Wheel Wednesday: How Can IndyCar Stand Out?

This report was provided by an outside PR source and posted by Mike Neff.


©2000 - 2008 Mike Neff and Frontstetch.com. Thanks for visiting the Frontstretch!