Go to content Go to navigation Go to recent PR reports Go to search

Donny Schatz Sweeps UNOH All-Stars at Bubba

Sunday February 10, 2013


Donny Schatz goes two-for-two at Bubba Raceway Park in All-Star Circuit of Champions Winged Sprint Car action.
Photo by Paul Arch

By Brian Liskai

On many nights in racing, it’s all about taking advantage of opportunities when they present themselves. For the second night in a row Donny Schatz did just that as he took the win against the University of Northwest Ohio All Star Circuit of Champions Saturday at Bubba Raceway Park.

When Steve Kinser suffered a flat tire with 10 laps to go Saturday, it caused race leader Dale Blaney, who was locked in a battle with four time UNOH All Star champion Tim Shaffer, to slow ever so slightly and Schatz was there to pounce. Schatz, a five time and defending World of Outlaws champion, drove into the lead in his Tony Stewart Racing/STP/Armor All backed machine. Shaffer regrouped and was able to apply pressure to Schatz as they raced into lapped traffic late in the race. However, Shaffer couldn’t make the pass as Schatz drove to his 11th career UNOH All Star victory

“What a great weekend. The guys got all the cars and motors running fantastic and it’s a lot of fun. This is what’s fun about racing. I was able to maneuver around and take advantage when Dale and Tim got to racing and they left a spot open for me,” said Schatz. “These new Hoosier tires aren’t like the tires we ran eight years ago, but they have a little forgiveness to them. I can do things in the race car that I haven’t been able to do in while. I can maneuver the car again…it’s exciting to see.”

After being involved in tangle on the opening night, a second place finish was just what Shaffer and his Aaron Call/Janet Holbrook Motorsports team needed.

“This is a tough place to pass. We had a couple of shots at Donny, but he got the breaks and things went his way. After the first night, this is a shot in the arm for us,” said Shaffer, who has won the last four consecutive UNOH All Star championships.

“We know we can compete with these guys. I’m excited to get to Volusia. It won’t be easy there. It’s like Knoxville…everyone has their best stuff and the competition is the best,” added Shaffer beside his Kistler Engines/Kistler Racing Products/VRP Shocks backed #83.

Blaney and Shaffer would bring the field to the green, with Blaney grabbing the lead with Shaffer remaining within striking distance. Meanwhile Schatz and three-time NASCAR Sprint Cup Series champion Tony Stewart were battling for third with two-time All Star champion Greg Wilson in fifth. As they raced into traffic, Shaffer was able to grab the lead on lap 8, but it was short-lived as Blaney used the same traffic to regain the lead a lap later.

Just past the half-way point, Kinser, who had worked his way from 24th to 13th, had a right rear tire going down. With 10 laps to go as Kinser tried to exit the track, it hindered Blaney and Shaffer, allowing Schatz to drive into the lead with Shaffer in second and Blaney falling back to third. A lap later and Stewart, aboard his Chevy Performance/Mobil 1 #14, would take third from Blaney with Wilson continuing to round out the top five. Shaffer would get to Schatz with less than a handful of laps left, but couldn’t make the pass.

Schatz would drive to the victory over Shaffer, Stewart and Blaney while Daryn Pittman would slip past Wilson with four laps to go to round out the top five finishers.

Bubba Raceway Park – 2/9/2013

UNOH Night

All Star Circuit of Champions (32 Cars)

[#]-Starting Position

Qualifying – Kistler Engines

1. 15-Donny Schatz, 11.982; 2. 14-Tony Stewart, 12.118; 3. 2-Dale Blaney, 12.216; 4. 51-Paul McMahan, 12.235; 5. 4D-Cody Darrah, 12.251; 6. 83-Tim Shaffer, 12.286; 7. 89G-David Gravel, 12.291; 8. 27-Lance Dewease, 12.309; 9. W20-Greg Wilson, 12.315; 10. 9-Daryn Pittman, 12.376; 11. 48-Danny Dietrich, 12.385; 12. 54-Cap Henry, 12.456; 13. 7S-Jason Sides, 12.470; 14. 1-Danny Lasoski, 12.492; 15. 1S-Logan Schuchart, 12.526; 16. 11K-Kraig Kinser, 12.565; 17. 17B-Steve Buckwalter, 12.600; 18. 45-Danny Holtgraver, 12.609; 19. 40-Caleb Helms, 12.654; 20. 80-Trey Gustin, 12.669; 21. 15H-Sam Hafertepe Jr., 12.670; 22. O-Justin Henderson, 12.677; 23. 59-Jac Haudenschild, 12.717; 24. 94-Jack Sodeman Jr., 12.732; 25. 11-Steve Kinser, 12.798; 26. 13-Jason Leffler, 12.819; 27. 9B-Jamie Barnes, 12.830; 28. 4-Danny Smith, 12.944; 29. O7-Mark Coldren, 12.992; 30. 40I-Mark Imler, 13.366; 31. 5-Glendon Forsythe, 13.383; 32. 18L-Shawn Lawler, 14.141

Heat 1 – Kears Speed Shop (8 Laps – Top 5 finishers transfer to the A-feature)

1. 15-Donny Schatz6 ; 2. 17B-Steve Buckwalter2 ; 3. 7S-Jason Sides3 ; 4. 15H-Sam Hafertepe Jr.1 ; 5. W20-Greg Wilson4 ; 6. 4D-Cody Darrah5 ; 7. 11-Steve Kinser7 ; 8. O7-Mark Coldren8

Heat 2 – All Pro Aluminum Heads (8 Laps – Top 5 finishers transfer to the A-feature)

1. 1-Danny Lasoski3 ; 2. 83-Tim Shaffer5 ; 3. 9-Daryn Pittman4 ; 4. 45-Danny Holtgraver2 ; 5. 14-Tony Stewart6 ; 6. 13-Jason Leffler7 ; 7. 40I-Mark Imler8

Heat 3 – Dragon Race Fuel (8 Laps – Top 5 finishers transfer to the A-feature)

1. 59-Jac Haudenschild1 ; 2. 2-Dale Blaney6 ; 3. 48-Danny Dietrich4 ; 4. 89G-David Gravel5 ; 5. 40-Caleb Helms2 ; 6. 1S-Logan Schuchart3 ; 7. 9B-Jamie Barnes7 ; 8. 5-Glendon Forsythe8

Heat 4 – Kinsler Fuel Injection (8 Laps – Top 5 finishers transfer to the A-feature)

1. 11K-Kraig Kinser3 ; 2. 54-Cap Henry4 ; 3. 94-Jack Sodeman Jr.1 ; 4. 51-Paul McMahan6 ; 5. 4-Danny Smith7 ; 6. 80-Trey Gustin2 ; 7. 18L-Shawn Lawler8 ; 8. 27-Lance Dewease5

Dash – Outerwears Performance Products (6 Laps, finishing order determined first 6 starting positions of A-feature

1. 2-Dale Blaney1 ; 2. 83-Tim Shaffer2 ; 3. 15-Donny Schatz5 ; 4. 14-Tony Stewart6 ; 5. 89G-David Gravel3 ; 6. 51-Paul McMahan4

B-Main – MSD Ignition (12 Laps – Top 4 finishers transfer to the A-feature)

1. 4D-Cody Darrah1 ; 2. 27-Lance Dewease2 ; 3. 1S-Logan Schuchart3 ; 4. 11-Steve Kinser6 ; 5. 9B-Jamie Barnes8 ; 6. 80-Trey Gustin4 ; 7. O-Justin Henderson5 ; 8. 13-Jason Leffler7 ; 9. 40I-Mark Imler10 ; 10. O7-Mark Coldren9 ; 11. 18L-Shawn Lawler12 ; 12. 5-Glendon Forsythe11

A-Main – University of Northwestern Ohio (30 Laps)

1. 15-Donny Schatz3; 2. 83-Tim Shaffer2; 3. 14-Tony Stewart4; 4. 2-Dale Blaney1; 5. 9-Daryn Pittman8; 6. 89G-David Gravel5; 7. W20-Greg Wilson7; 8. 51-Paul McMahan6; 9. 7S-Jason Sides13; 10. 27-Lance Dewease12; 11. 48-Danny Dietrich9; 12. 4D-Cody Darrah11; 13. 17B-Steve Buckwalter17; 14. 54-Cap Henry10; 15. 45-Danny Holtgraver18; 16. 11K-Kraig Kinser16; 17. 15H-Sam Hafertepe Jr.20; 18. 4-Danny Smith24; 19. 40-Caleb Helms19; 20. 94-Jack Sodeman Jr.22; 21. 11-Steve Kinser23; 22. 59-Jac Haudenschild21; 23. 1-Danny Lasoski14; 24. 1S-Logan Schuchart15

Hard Charger: 4-Danny Smith[+6]

The Frontstretch Newsletter, back in 2014 gives you more of the daily news, commentary, and racing features from your favorite writers you know and love. Don’t waste another minute – click here to sign up now. We’re here to make sure you stay informed … so make sure you jump on for the ride!

Today on the Frontstretch:
Racing to the Point: NASCAR Has Its Own Heartbreak Kid
Beyond the Cockpit: Brittany Force, the Fastest Force
Voices from the Cheap Seats: Advertising for Dummies
Who’s Hot / Who’s Not in Sprint Cup: Off Week-Richmond Edition
Couch Potato Tuesday: Picking The Best IndyCar On-Air Personalities

This report was provided by an outside PR source and posted by Mike Neff.


©2000 - 2008 Mike Neff and Frontstetch.com. Thanks for visiting the Frontstretch!