Go to content Go to navigation Go to recent PR reports Go to search

Kyle Welsch, Rudy Roth IV and Gillian Kirkpatrick score victories in Shortened Camera Night at Bethel Motor Speedway

Sunday July 14, 2013


Cars and fans jammed the track at Bethel Motor Speedway this past Saturday for the annual “Camera Night” festivities that afford spectators the chance to go on the track and get “up close and personal” with the weekly competitors. As an added bonus, Street Stock division sponsor Shakelton’s Auto & Truck Centers had arranged for Martin Truex Jr.’s car to be on display. While the night had to be cut short due to an electrical malfunction, fans got the opportunity to also watch Kyle Welsch, Rudy Roth IV, and Gillian Kirkpatrick all score wins in their division’s races.

The track office announced that racing will start at 6 pm for the remainder of the month to accommodate the holdover races for the other divisions. The Sportsman, Pro Stock, Street Stock, and BMS Modified classes are all scheduled to run holdover races in addition to their regular night’s features on Saturday, July 20th; while the Legends Pro/Masters, Legends Young Lion/Semi Pro, and 4 Cylinder Novice classes will have the opportunity to run their holdover races on July 20th.

The 4 Cylinder Advanced class was able to get their race in, and provided plenty of excitement as current point leader Kyle Welsch notched his third win of the season. The victory ended Welsch’s winless streak, as he had not visited Victory Lane since June 1st. In spite of Welsch’s win, defending division champion Walt Henry was able to pick up one point in the standings by virtue of his heat race win, bringing him to a mere eight points behind Welsch.

Eddy Lindstadt – the 2010 4 Cylinder Senior champion – started the race on the pole, alongside Josh Mendez. Lindstadt got out front at the drop of the green, but the battle for the top spot at that point also included Mendez, Tim Curry, and Patty Falkena, all running in close quarters with the rest of the field tight behind them. Dan Curry seemingly came out of nowhere to be scored as the leader for a single lap at the halfway point before Welsch put himself in the mix and got out front. Henry – Welsch’s closest rival in the point standings – came to second just one lap later. Henry did all he could to get past Welsch, but Welsch never surrendered the spot and took home the win. Henry had to be content with second, while 2012 4 Cylinder Novice champion Vinny Lovric was third.

Rudy Roth IV made up for his disappointment last Sunday in the Quality Bus Service Bandolero division by returning to Victory Lane on Saturday night, scoring his ninth win of the year. Just one week ago, Roth looked to be well on his way to continuing his win streak when mechanical failure plagued him and he was forced to retire from the event, and the young driver hit the track determined not to suffer the same heartbreak again.

Two-time defending division champion Max Evans started on the pole, with David French to his outside. French took the lead on the initial lap. Neil Rutt III came to second on lap two, and contact between Evans and another competitor resulted in both having to restart at the rear of the field. Over the next several laps, the battle waged on for the lead between French and Rutt, but Roth had come from his eighth place starting position to take second just six laps into the event. A seesaw battle then ensued between Roth and French for the top spot, with the position swapping hands several times before Roth claimed it for good with five laps remaining. Evans made his way back through the field to hold third for several laps, but Christina Eckes laid claim to the spot at the same time that Roth reclaimed the lead. Roth drove on to the win, with French second and Eckes third.

Roth heads into the next event with a comfortable 50-point lead in the standings over French. The point chase for the second spot is quite heated, however, as Rutt trails French by just two points.

Gillian Kirkpatrick scored her first career win in the Quality Bus Service Beginner Bandolero division just one week ago, and she has been virtually unstoppable since, scoring both her second and third wins in the two races since. This past Saturday, Eugene Storm Drew and Mike Roth started on the pole, leaving Kirkpatrick to look on from the third starting spot. Drew took the immediate lead, while Kirkpatrick grabbed second. Kirkpatrick spun from second on lap three, handing the spot to Roth, but she came back and reclaimed the spot just a few laps later. Heartbreak struck for Drew just prior to the halfway point of the race, when mechanical failure ended his night. Roth had the pole for the restart, and he and Kirkpatrick went wheel to wheel over the next several laps, with Kirkpatrick making her move for the lead with three laps to go. She drove on to her third consecutive win over Roth. Drew was third in the final rundown.

Racing action will return to the speedway this coming Saturday, July 20th, with a full night of excitement. The jam-packed schedule includes the holdover races for the Sportsman, Pro Stock, Street Stock, and BMS Modified classes, as well as the regularly-scheduled events for the Sportsman, Legends, Bandolero, Pro Stock, Street Stock, BMS Modified, and 4 Cylinder Advanced and Novice classes. Gates open at 2:30, with hot laps at 5 pm. Racing is set to go green at 6 pm. Grandstand admission is $6.

More information, including a complete 2013 schedule, can be obtained online at www.bethelmotorspeedway.com, or by calling (845) 319-7908.

4 CYLINDER ADVANCED FEATURE FINISH (20 laps): 1. Kyle Welsch, 2. Walt Henry, 3. Vinny Lovric, 4. Dan Curry, 5. Josh Mendez, 6. Patty Falkena, 7. Tim Curry, 8. Joe Smith, 9. George Zeininger, 10. Scott Quick, 11. Ivan Guerra, 12. Keith Henry, 13. Joel Murns Jr., 14. Troy Morris, 15. Jerry Kingeter, 16. Joe Wilson, 17. Eddy Lindstadt, 18. George VanAken.

BANDOLERO FEATURE FINISH (15 laps): 1. Rudy Roth IV, 2. David French, 3. Christian Eckes, 4. Neil Rutt III, 5. Max Evans, 6. Matt Addona, 7. Cody Demarmels, 8. Kaci Stackhouse, 9. Lars McElravy.

BEGINNER BANDOLERO FEATURE FINISH (15 laps): 1. Gillian Kirkpatrick, 2. Mike Roth, 3. Eugene Storm Drew.

The Frontstretch Newsletter, back in 2014 gives you more of the daily news, commentary, and racing features from your favorite writers you know and love. Don’t waste another minute – click here to sign up now. We’re here to make sure you stay informed … so make sure you jump on for the ride!

Today on the Frontstretch:
Swan Racing Announces Restructuring, No. 26 & No. 30 ‘Sold’ Off
Tech Talk with Tony Gibson: Taking Stock Of Danica Patrick In Year Two
Vexing Vito: Three Drivers In Need of a Role Reversal
Going By the Numbers: Top-10 NASCAR Variety Hard To Come By In…
Truckin’ Thursdays: Lessons Learned Just Two Races In
Fantasy Insider: Team Revelations For NASCAR’s Short Tracks


This report was provided by an outside PR source and posted by Mike Neff.


©2000 - 2008 Mike Neff and Frontstetch.com. Thanks for visiting the Frontstretch!