Go to content Go to navigation Go to recent PR reports Go to search

Kyle Dudley and Ryan Glenski Pick Up Wins, Steve Teter Continues Mini-Cup Dominance at Franklin County Speedway

Monday July 22, 2013


Kyle Dudley picked up his second win of the season and Ryan Glenski scored his first win in a couple years on Saturday night at Franklin County Speedway. Meanwhile, in the Mini Cup division, Steve Teter continued his dominance despite a $100 bounty being placed on him.

Dudley scored the victory in the first of two Late Model features after holding off a late race challenge from Johnny Cash. The two drivers swapped the lead several times in the closing stages before Dudley put the bump-and-run on Cash. Wesley Thomason followed suit to finish second.

“I thought I had it,” said Dudley. “I was running good, had a big lead and I was just cruising. I didn’t want to see that last caution. We were awful on restarts. It took us a few laps to get going. He got around us a few times but the car was good tonight. I got in to the 30 when I passed him but it was nothing intentional, just racing. He got loose and I was right there.”

Dudley fell out of the second twin Late Model feature early after getting caught up in an on-track skirmish. Once again, Johnny Cash made things exciting in the second race as the veteran racer pressured Ryan Glenski for the win. The two swapped the lead numerous times in an instant classic until four laps to go, when Cash got loose off turn four and Glenski drove home to victory.

“It was a crazy race and I had a lot of fun,” said Glenski. “I like this track a lot. You’ve really got to drive it. All the competitors raced clean. I brought it home in one piece. It’s big to win. To see a smile on my dad’s face (who just beat cancer) when he took the car out there to dry the track was awesome. I like this track and want to race more.”

Glenski leads the 4-Crown Challenge standings over Brian Pembleton and Johnny Cash.

Cash would go on to win the Mini Stock race, beating Brittany Cockram who had won in her last two starts prior to Saturday’s race.

“It was a fun race,” said Cash. “We were hanging out, having fun and waiting my time out. My hats off to Brittany, she’s a heck of a driver. I knew what we had. This is an awesome car and this is a lot of fun.

The largest car count of the night came in the Mini Cup race where a field of nearly 20 cars came from up and down the East Coast to try and collect a $100 bounty placed on Steve Teter. Teter continued his dominance in the Mini Cup division, picking up his fourth win of the year and remaining undefeated. As a result of the victory, the bounty on Teter will be increased to $150 for the next race on August 3rd.

“We had a good car tonight,” said Teter. “I knew we should start 10th. Tonight, I wouldn’t have cared if you put us at the rear of the field. That’s how good the car was handling. It was handling like a dream tonight. I don’t care if you make the bounty $200.”

Chad Conner picked up the win in the Street Stock feature while Chad Burnopp won in the TunerZ race and Rodney Howell inherited the victory in the U-CAR feature after Tony Housman was disqualified.

The next race at Franklin County Speedway will be on August 3rd with the SummerSlam featuring the fourth and final leg of the 4-Crown Challenge as well as the Southern Ground Pounders and a $500 to win Any Car race.

For more information on these races and the tracks 2013 schedule be sure to visit their new website at www.MoonshineCapitalPromotions.com or follow them on Facebook at “Moonshine Capital Promotions”. You can also contact promoter Langley Austin at 276.613.4208.


Late Model 1/2

1. #51 Kyle Dudley
2. #84 Wesley Thomason
3. #30 Johnny Cash
4. #87 Billy Martin
5. #28 Ryan Glenski
6. #23 Rusty Gaspard

Late Model 2/2

1. #28 Ryan Glenski
2. #30 Johnny Cash
3. #87 Billy Martin
4. #84 Wesley Thomason
5. #23 Rusty Gaspard
6. #51 Kyle Dudley

Mini Cup

1. #18 Steve Teter
2. #51 Daryl Mason
3. #4 Justin Manning
4. #50 Kyle Morris
5. #70 Jeff Stump
6. #79 Jason Stryson
7. #40 Jennifer Chitwood
8. #97 Brian Feazelle
9. #00 Buck Mitchell
10. #11 Hunter Feazelle
11. #58 Amanda Harrison
12. #66 Dianna Brooks
13. #33 Nathanael Stafford
14. #12 Gary Stafford
15. #17g Aaron Quintrell
16. #17b Bradley Simmons
17. #12r Jay Quintrell
18. #81 Jeff Davis


1. #1 Rodney Howell
2. 34 Matthew Gusler
3. #74 Michael Soter
4. #79 Chad Burnopp
5. #13 Eddie Bassinger
6. #31 Chad Ricker
7. #14 Ryan Cox
8. #12 Joey Phillips
9. #26 Tony Housman DQ

Street Stock

1. #53 Chad Conner
2. #10 Danny Bush
3. #15 Jamie Ruddock
4. #2 DeWayne Law
5. #33 Eddie Rocke DQ


1. #79 Chad Burnopp
2. #14 JC Morgan
3. #12 Chris Amos
4. #11 Adam Smith
5. #5 Michael Simacek

Mini Stock

1. #4 Johnny Cash
2. #16 Brittany Cockram
3. #64 Zach Harris
4. #11r Cody Woodward
5. #17 Daniel Hutson
6. #11g Michael Bennett

The Frontstretch Newsletter, back in 2014 gives you more of the daily news, commentary, and racing features from your favorite writers you know and love. Don’t waste another minute – click here to sign up now. We’re here to make sure you stay informed … so make sure you jump on for the ride!

Today on the Frontstretch:
Championship Caliber? What Does That Even Mean?
Mirror Driving: Winning Vs. Points, Needing a Boost, and The Lady’s Last Dance?
Nuts for Nationwide: The Curious Case of Elliott Sadler
Happiness Is…Arrogance, Less, Next, and the Outdoors
Frontstretch Foto Funnies: It’s Not Gonna Fit…

This report was provided by an outside PR source and posted by Mike Neff.


©2000 - 2008 Mike Neff and Frontstetch.com. Thanks for visiting the Frontstretch!