Home / News / Red Bull Racing Swaps Crew Chiefs on Nos. 82 and 83 Toyotas

Red Bull Racing Swaps Crew Chiefs on Nos. 82 and 83 Toyotas

On Tuesday, Red Bull Racing officials announced the swap of crew chiefs and supporting personnel between the Nos. 82 and 83 Toyotas, effective immediately.

“Due to the circumstances of our current situation, we have an opportunity to experiment with different personnel combinations,” Jay Frye, Red Bull Racing Team General Manager and Vice President, said.

Scott Speed, driver of the No. 82 machine, will now be paired with Ryan Pemberton. Jimmy Elledge will assume crew chief duties for the No. 83 car, which is currently driven by Casey Mears. The at-track teams consisting of car chiefs, engineers, etc. will move with their respective crew chiefs.

Mears, who is driving in replacement of Brian Vickers for the foreseeable future, worked with Elledge while the two were employed at Chip Ganassi Racing. In three seasons together (2003-05), the pairing produced two poles, four top-5 and 18 top-10 finishes. Meanwhile, Speed has struggled after a strong start, going nine races without a top-10 finish while posting four runs of 30th or worse.

About Admin

Check Also

Mike Hillman Jr. Leaves Brad Keselowski Racing

Mike Hillman Jr., crew chief for the No. 29 Brad Keselowski Racing Ford F-150 in …