Race Weekend Central

Numbers Game: Daytona Speedweeks

The number of drivers to win the Bud Shootout, Gatorade Duel race and the Daytona 500 in the same year.

The difference, in seconds, between Hendrick Motorsports teammates Dale Earnhardt, Jr. and Jeff Gordon during Sunday’s pole qualifying.

The number of times a Dodge has ever won the Budweiser Shootout (2011, Kurt Busch).

The number of laps Budweiser Shootout winner Kurt Busch led.

The most Daytona 500 wins by a single driver, Richard Petty.

The number of poles Dale Earnhardt, Jr. has in 400 career Sprint Cup starts.

The number of years since a pole-winner has won the Daytona 500 (Dale Jarrett, 2000).

The number of cars running at the end of the Budweiser Shootout (24 started).

*15 minutes, 10 seconds*
The length of the shortest shootout race of all time (Bill Elliot, 1987). Saturday’s race was over 1 hour, 13 minutes.

Michael Waltrip’s starting position when he won the Daytona 500 in 2001.

The average starting position of the last four Daytona 500 winners.

Number of times a top-5 starter has gone on to win the Daytona 500.

The number of lead changes in this year’s Budweiser Shootout as a result of the two-car drafts, a new race record.

The pounds per square inch NASCAR set the pressure release valve on the water system following the Budweiser Shootout.

The highest average speed for a complete lap reached during Saturday’s Budweiser Shootout, achieved by both Michael Waltrip and Kyle Busch. The lap was 20 miles per hour faster than Dale Earnhardt, Jr’s pole lap average of 186.089 mph. RaceView, available for free at nascar.com during Speedweeks, reported an unofficial average lap speed of over 208 mph for Waltrip.

The last time a foreign-born driver won the Great American Race (Mario Andretti, 1967). Marcos Ambrose (Australia) and Juan Pablo Montoya (Columbia) will both attempt to change this on Sunday.

The last time that a driver won the Daytona 500 from the outside of the front row (Dale Jarrett).

The last time a Budweiser Shootout winner has gone on the win the Daytona 500 (Jeff Gordon).

The last time a driver won a Gatorade Duel race and the Daytona 500 in the same year (Dale Earnhardt, Jr.).

The difference in prize money awarded to the first Budweiser Shootout winner (Buddy Baker, 1979) and Kurt Busch in 2011. Busch obviously made out a little better than Baker.

Share this article

Sign up for the Frontstretch Newsletter

A daily email update (Monday through Friday) providing racing news, commentary, features, and information from Frontstretch.com