Home / Uncategorized / $1,000 is top IMCA Modified prize at Texas Thunder Lone Star Series show

$1,000 is top IMCA Modified prize at Texas Thunder Lone Star Series show

IMCA Modifieds race for $1,000 to win and two champions will be crowned when the IMCA Lone Star Series travels to Texas Thunder Speedway this Sunday, July 1.

The Modified feature is a qualifying event for the Fast Shafts All-Star Invitational ballot. Killeen hosts final series events of the season for IMCA Sunoco Stock Cars and IMCA Sunoco Hobby Stocks; touring Smiley’s Racing Chassis Southern SportMods complete the card.

Defending champion Keith White of Little River Academy has a 15 point advantage over Emory’s Kevin Sustaire in the Modified standings. Sid Kiphen of Gatesville is four points better than Johnny Torres of San Antonio in the Southern SportMod race.

Jason Batt of Harker Heights leads Shane Priddy of Abilene by four points heading into the Stock Car finale. Seven points separate Chase Neill of Haltom City and Chase Parson of Abilene in the Hobby Stock title chase.

Both the WCH Engines sponsored Stock Car series and the Extreme Racin’ Products sponsored Hobby Stock series have lost two of seven scheduled events to inclement weather and pro-rated national and regional bonus points will be awarded to each champion.

Pit gates and the grandstand at Killeen both open at 4 p.m. Hot laps are at 6:20 p.m. with racing at 7 p.m.

Grandstand admission is $12 for adults, with a discount for seniors and military personnel, and $5 for kids ages 6-12. Youngsters five and under get in free.

More information is available at the track website, www.texasthunder.com, or by calling 254 289-9657.

Two more races are scheduled for the Modified and Southwest Racing Specialties sponsored SportMod series, at Grayson County Speedway in Bells on July 8 and at 85 Speedway in Ennis on Sept. 30.

*Lone Star Series Top 10 Point Standings*

*Modifieds –* 1. Keith White, Little River Academy, 154; 2. Kevin Sustaire, Emory, 139; 3. Josh McGaha, Abilene, 129; 4. P.J. Egbert, Copperas Cove, 112; 5. Brandon Stewart, Forney, 111; 6. Joe Spillman, Marble Falls, 108; 7. Charles Brewer, Abilene, 104; 8. Darin Leonard, Sinton, 100; 9. David Davis, Sweetwater, 94; 10. Chris Elliott, Abilene, 91.

*Stock Cars –* 1. Jason Batt, Harker Heights, 150; 2. Shane Priddy, Abilene, 146; 3. Keith White, Little River Academy, 143; 4. J.C. Howell, Mabank, 138; 5. Dennis Bissonnette, Stephenville, 130; 6. Duain Pritchett, Combine, 128; 7. Jeff Turner, Kaufman,103; 8. Matt Guillaume, Haslet, 96; 9. David Phillips, Abilene, 83; 10. Caleb Crenshaw, Fort Worth, 76.

*Hobby Stocks –* 1. Chase Neill, Haltom City, 143; 2. Chase Parson, Abilene, 136; 3. David Bissonnette, Stephenville, 135; 4. Justin Cass, Abilene, 132; 5. Jon Grindstaff, Venus, 93; 6. Terry Comer, Hawley, 89; 7. John Watson, Des Moines, Iowa, 79; 8. Bryan Sewell, Seagoville, 74; 9. Robert Scrivner, Waco, 70; 10. Ben Lucas, Willow Park, 68.

*Southern SportMods –* 1. Sid Kiphen, Gatesville, 155; 2. Johnny Torres, San Antonio, 151; 3. Dean Abbey, Waco, 137; 4. Doug Easterling, Rule,123; 5. Cody Leonard, Sinton, and Ronnie Welborn, Princeton, both 110; 7. Kevin Green, Robinson, 105; 8. Michael Martin, Kaufman, 95; 9. Justin Shaw, Sweetwater, 79; 10. Quentin Noel, Dublin, 72.


Check Also

Hamlin Fastest in Both XFINITY Series Practices at Darlington

Denny Hamlin showed the way in opening practice for the XFINITY Series on Friday Morning …