Home / Uncategorized / Ricky Weeks Debuts New Longhorn Chassis; Seeks Third Win in a Row at the 4th Annual Ed Gibbons Memorial Race – June 30

Ricky Weeks Debuts New Longhorn Chassis; Seeks Third Win in a Row at the 4th Annual Ed Gibbons Memorial Race – June 30

Luke Roffers leads series points entering race #5 on 2012 season. Michael Marlowe leads Rookie standings.

*Ricky Weeks picked up Carolina Clash Career wins #36 & #37 in the previous two events and is gearing up for win #38. The next event will be a first for Weeks – in a new brand of chassis.*

Weeks was approached by BLR with hopes of exposing their car to different venues throughout the local series’. “Miss AMERICA” was born on June 20, 2012 and will make her first appearance at Fayetteville Speedway this Saturday night, June 30th, for the Carolina Clash/Ed Gibbons Memorial event. RWR will continue to be a 2 chassis house (Longhorns & Rockets) for the remainder of the 2012 season. “We are very excited about the new addition”, said Weeks. “We know it’s a new car and all, but the Longhorn has shown some fantastic results in such a short time. We feel Bobby and Earl have the program headed in the right direction and we’re happy to have them as an asset to our race program”. (From June 25, 2012 RWR press release)

In addition to Weeks, Luke Roffers, Jeff Smith and Johnny Pursley are also having terrific seasons with Carolina Clash and are only separated by 7 points in the series point standings.

Roffers, Smith, and Weeks each have wins in the opening four races and Pursley has scored four top ten finishes (two top fives).

Dennis Franklin, Dean Bowen, and Luke Roffers have each won the Ed Gibbons Memorial Race and perhaps a new face will lay claim to the 4th annual trophy.

Clover, SC driver Ross Bailes has also surged as of late in the #87 car. A 2nd and 3rd place finishes have placed him into the top ten in points and looking to gain more ground on the top five this Saturday.

Nichols, SC independent farmer Michael Marlowe has competed on the tour before, but never as a Rookie of the Year candidate. Two top ten finishes in the last two events have given him a lot of momentum entering the memorial tribute race. Currently leads Wayne Hughes of West Virginia and Austin Kirkpatrick of Ocala, Florida in the Rookie of the Year competition.

2011 ROY Travis Yow, of Fayetteville, NC, has experienced an up-and-down season, as his family-based team looks to break into the top five at their home field.

Gaffney, SC Mike Gault and Autryville, NC Scott Autry both had disastrous results at the last Fayetteville race, where Gault crashed in an early race incident, while Autry tumbled out of the the turn two area in a late race tango with Dustin Mitchell. They are also running in the top ten in points.

Wayne Hughes scored his best Carolina Clash finish with a 5th place run, which also earned him the “Safety-Kleen” Hard Charger of the Race.

Dustin Mitchell won the previous event, but a post-race tire sample analysis revealed that the tire did not conform with the American Race Tire Company benchmarks for the sample. His win was voided and Weeks was declared the winner.

June 30th’s racing program will also include racing in the following divisions: Late Model, Open Wheel Modified, Super Street, Pure Stock, U-Car and Micro Sprints. Pit gates open at 3 p.m. with grandstand gates opening at 4 p.m. and practice will start at 7 p.m. Drivers meeting will be at 6:30.

*Admission Prices will be as follows for this event:*

Pits- $30.00 (Adults) Kids 12 & Under- Free

Grandstands- $20.00 (Adults) Seniors & Military- $18.00 ~ Kids- 6 to 12 are $2.00 and Kids 6 & Under are Free

VIP Tickets are $30.00


For more info on this event, please visit www.carolinaclash.com or www.thenewfayettevillemotorspeedway.com
You can call the track anytime at 910-223-RACE (7223)

*Awards (some awards that are not posted may be provided by Fayetteville Motor Speedway)*

XS Power Racing Batteries will give a gift certificate to the pole winner.

The “Hard Charger” of the race will select products from Safety-Kleen.

The top five will receive Cool Shirt bucks from Shafer Enterprises.

The 3rd place finisher will receive a case of Q Racing Oil from Shell Racing Solutions.

The 10th place finisher will receive a case of Mobil 1 Gear Oil from Nascar Technical Institute.

Heat Race winners will receive R2C Performance Certificates.

The “Hard Luck” recipient will receive a case of Q-Racing Oil from Shell Racing Solutions.


Check Also

Clint Bowyer Searching for Win, Redemption as Playoff Deadline Looms

With just two weeks left to take a spot in NASCAR’s playoffs, Clint Bowyer sites …