Home / Uncategorized / Daniel Ebert Captures First Victory of 2014 Summit Racing Equipment Modified Nationals Season at Brushcreek Motorsports Complex
Daniel Ebert cleans up for Summit Modified Nationals victory at Brushcreek Motorsports Comples.Credit: Jim Denhamer

Daniel Ebert Captures First Victory of 2014 Summit Racing Equipment Modified Nationals Season at Brushcreek Motorsports Complex

By Jordan Morris

PEEBLES, Ohio — July 17, 2014 — Daniel Ebert captured his first victory of the 2014 Summit Racing Equipment Modified Nationals season in dominating fashion after leading flag-to-flag on Thursday night at Brushcreek Motorsports Complex.

Ebert, of Lake Shore, Minn., started the 20-lap feature event from the outside of row one, with Taylor Cook starting from the pole-position. Ebert wasted little time capturing the lead as he rocketed past Cook on the backstretch of the opening lap.

Once out front, Ebert kept his car glued on the faster outside line which kept Cook from mounting a serious charge on the leader. Cook worked his way to the inside of Ebert on several occasions but could never get enough momentum to complete the pass for the lead. Unfortunately for Cook his bid for the victory would come to an early end as he tried to power his way to the inside of the leader and spun his car after trying to avoid contact with Ebert.

With Cook at the back of the field, Ebert faced challenges from Jackie Boggs on several restarts around the halfway point in the race, but Ebert’s car proved to be too strong for Boggs. Ebert pulled away from Boggs on a restart with four laps to go, and cruised to the $1,000 checkered flag at Brushcreek Motorsports Complex.

For the second night in-a-row, Jacob Poel was involved in an accident in his heat race, resulting in a poor starting position. Poel’s bad luck carried over to the feature event where he finished in the 16th position, again failing to gain ground on an absent Mike Harrison in the championship standings. With just two races remaining, Poel is still just six-points behind Harrison for the $5,000 title.

Kenny Johnson, Dave Jamison and David McWilliams rounded out the top five.

Heat race winners were Taylor Cook and Daniel Ebert.

With only two races remaining, the DIRTcar Summit Racing Equipment Modified Nationals joins the DIRTcar Summer Nationals in continuing the closest points battle in series history on Friday night at Attica Raceway Park in Attica, Ohio.

DIRTcar Summit Racing Equipment Modified Nationals Statistical Report; Brushcreek Motorsports Complex; Peebles, Ohio; July 17, 2014;

A-Main (20-laps):1. 60-Daniel Ebert ($1,000), 2. D4-Jackie Boggs, 3. 1-Kenny Johnson, 4. D4J-Dave Jamison, 5. 18-David McWilliams, 6. 13J-Adam Colley, 7. 89-Blake Terry, 8. 10L-Nathan Loney, 9. 19-Walt Mayabb, 10. K9-Scott Gerdeman, 11. 6-TJ Schulz, 12. 26-Jason Bilyeu, 13. 21-Taylor Cook, 14. 17-Brandon Ramsey, 15. 12-Jeremy Rayburn, 16. 82-Jacob Poel, 17. 1G-Devin Gilpin, 18. 8-Cody Mayabb.

2014 DIRTcar Summit Racing Equipment Modified Nationals Schedule

June 7 Sat Tri-State Speedway Haubstadt, Ind. Tyler Nicely
June 11 Wed Brownstown Speedway Brownstown, Ind. RAIN
June 12 Thur Kankakee Co-Speedway Kankakee, Ill. Devin Gilpin
June 13 Fri Kankakee Co-Speedway Kankakee, Ill. Jacob Poel
June 15 Sun Off
June 16 Mon Off
June 17 Tue Off
June 18 Wed Spoon River Speedway Canton, Ill. Jacob Poel
June 19 Thur Quincy Raceways Quincy, Ill. RAIN
June 20 Fri Tri-City Speedway Pontoon Beach, Ill. Mike Harrison
June 21 Sat Fairbury Speedway Fairbury, Ill. RAIN
June 22 Sun I-96 Speedway Ionia, Mich. Jacob Poel
June 23 Mon Peoria Speedway Peoria, Ill. David Wietholder
June 24 Tue Off
June 25 Wed Clarksville Speedway Park Clarksville, Tenn. Mike Harrison
June 26 Thur Clayhill Motorsports Park Atwood, Tenn. Hunter Rasdon
June 27 Fri Paducah Int-Raceway Paducah, Ky. RAIN
June 28 Sat Federated I-55 Raceway Pevely, Mo. Mike Harrison
June 29 Sun Lincoln Speedway Lincoln, Ill. Jacob Poel
June 30 Mon Off
July 1 Tue Belle-Clair Speedway Belleville, Ill. Mike Harrison
July 2 Wed Jacksonville Speedway Jacksonville, Ill. Mike Harrison
July 3 Thur LaSalle Speedway LaSalle, Ill. Mike Harrison
July 4 Fri Fayette Co-Speedway Brownstown, Ill. Brian Shaw
July 5 Sat Highland Speedway Highland, Ill. Rusty Griffaw
July 6 Sun Tri-State Speedway Haubstadt, Ind. Jacob Poel
July 7 Mon Off
July 8 Tue Florence Speedway Union, Ky. Devin Gilpin
July 9 Wed Terre Haute Action Track Terre Haute, Ind. Kenny Wallace
July 10 Thur Macon Speedway Macon, Ill. Ken Schrader
July 11 Fri Farmer City Raceway Farmer City, Ill. Jacob Poel
July 12 Sat Fairbury Speedway Fairbury, Ill. RAIN
July 13 Sun Vermilion Co-Speedway Danville, Ill. Jacob Poel
July 14 Mon Off
July 15 Tue Off
July 16 Wed Atomic Speedway Chillicothe, Ohio Devin Gilpin
July 17 Thu Brushcreek Motorsports Peebles, Ohio Daniel Ebert
July 18 Fri Attica Raceway Park Attica, Ohio $1,000
July 19 Sat Oakshade Raceway Wauseon, Ohio $1,000

The Summit Racing Modified Nationals is proudly brought to you by these fine partners:Summit Racing Equipment (Title Sponsor), Arizona Sport Shirts (Official Apparel Provider), Hoosier Racing Tire (Official Racing Tire), Racing Electronics (Official Communication ), Velocita (Official Uniform),VP Racing Fuels (Official Fuel), along with these Contingency Parters: MSD, TomCat Performance, Landrum Performance Springs, Dominator Race Products, QuarterMaster, KSE Racing Products, Bilstein Shocks, Joes Racing Products, Wrisco Aluminum, Beyea Custom Headers, Fast Shafts, Bassett Racing Wheels, QA1, Auto Meter, Fluidampr, Fox Shocks, Impact Race Products, Penske Shocks, Performance Friction Brakes, Strange Oval, Schoenfeld Headers, Bell Helmets, Shafer Enterprises’ Cool Shirts; Promotional Partners include: Chevy Performance Parts, Indiana Decal and Intercomp.

About Mike Neff

Mike Neff
What is it that Mike Neff doesn’t do? The writer, radio contributor and racetrack announcer coordinates the site’s local short track coverage, hitting up Saturday Night Specials across the country while tracking the sport’s future racing stars. The writer for our signature Cup post-race column, Thinkin’ Out Loud (Mondays) also sits down with Cup crew chiefs to talk shop every Friday with Tech Talk. Mike works as track announcer and does Sales and Marketing for Myrtle Beach Speedway. He announces several shows each year for the Good Guys Rod and Custom Association. He also pops up everywhere from PRN Pit Reporters and the Press Box with Alan Smothers to SIRIUS XM Radio. He has announced at tracks all over the Southeast, starting at Millbridge Speedway. He's also announced at East Lincoln Speedway, Concord Speedway, Tri-County Speedway, Caraway Speedway, and Charlotte Motor Speedway.

Check Also

Denny Hamlin Wins Sport Clips Haircuts VFW 200 Pole at Darlington

The No. 18 XFINITY Series car of Joe Gibbs Racing is as fast as ever …