Ever wonder how race teams get great rental car rates? Now you can, too! Find out more.
Enterprise and National: Here to serve your company's needs

NASCAR Race Weekend Central

Daniel Suarez Sets Quick Time for 2015 US Cellular 250 Pole at Iowa

While Kyle Busch may not be running at Iowa Speedway, one of his Joe Gibbs Racing teammates will lead the field to green.

Daniel Suarez put down a 23.606-second lap to take the pole for tonight’s U.S. Cellular 250 presented by New Holland, his second-career NASCAR Xfinity Series pole.

Suarez will be joined on the front row by Ryan Blaney (23.618). Blaney, a two-time winner in the Xfinity Series, will get a chance at redemption in Team Penske’s No. 22 Discount Tire Ford after a late mistake cost him a victory last week at Indianapolis Motor Speedway.

Brendan Gaughan qualified third with a 23.709-second lap to lead the way for Chevrolet. Gaughan’s Richard Childress Racing teammate Brandon Jones (23.727) qualified fourth, with Drew Herring (23.761) rounding out the top five.

While Herring qualified in fifth, he won’t race tonight. Instead, NASCAR Camping World Truck Series regular Erik Jones will fly over after competing at Pocono to run the event. Jones will start at the tail-end of the field as a result of the change.

Points leader Chris Buescher (23.798) put down the sixth-fastest time, with veteran Kenny Wallace (23.839) qualifying seventh for his final NXS start. Darrell Wallace Jr., Regan Smith and Ty Dillon finished out the top 10.

Coverage for tonight’s U.S. Cellular 250 will begin a 8:00 p.m. ET on NBCSN.


Share this article