(Photo: Matthew T. Thacker/NKP)

2016 Frontstretch Cup: Staff Predictions for the Hellman’s 500

Welcome to our ninth year of staff predictions! Each week, our experts attempt to tell you who the winner of each Cup race will be. Take a look to see who your favorite writers think will win it all (or at least score some points) this week!

Think you can out-prognosticate our staff?  Leave your picks in the comments and see how they stack up!

How we roll:

Each driver can be picked only twice each week.  We can’t pick the same driver two weeks in a row.  And if anyone is daring enough to pick from a pool of higher-risk drivers…well, he or she reaps some serious bonus points!

Prediction Scoring
+5 – Win
+3 – 2nd-5th
+1 – 6th-10th
0 – 11th-20th
-1 – 21st-30th
-2 – 31st-36th
-3 – 37th-40th
*High-risk bonus: Win: +3; 2nd-5th: +2; 6th-10th: +1

High-Risk Drivers—Talladega II
Matt DiBenedetto
Michael McDowell
Trevor Bayne
Casey Mears
Danica Patrick
AJ Allmendinger
Kasey Kahne

This week’s predictions: Hellman’s 500

Amy Henderson, Senior Editor:  You know what, give me Casey Mears.  I could use a few extra points and he’s a good plate racer.  Oh, and he’s got little bit to prove, and he’s probably pretty pissed off, so that could add some speed…
Dan Greene, Webmaster: I’ll take Smoke; he’s got as good a chance as anybody.
Tony Lumbis, Financial Manager: Keselowski needs the win to stay alive and this has been his playground of late so I’ll go with him.
Jeff Wolfe, Senior Writer: Brad Keselowski.
Mark Howell, Senior Writer: Chase Elliott for win number one.
Clayton Caldwell, Contributor: If there’s room for two, Amy, I’m joining the Casey Mears bandwagon this weekend.
Sean Fesko, Staff Writer: Clint Bowyer.
Jeff Meyer, Retiree: Kevin Harvick, please. 
Greg Davis, Senior Writer:  
Smoke. Taking Stewart for the win in his last appearance at ‘Dega.
Danny Peters, Senior Writer: No. 11.
Huston Ladner, Senior Editor: Danica Patrick.
John Douglas, Contributor:
I’ll go with Ricky Stenhouse, Jr. Just a hunch.
Bryan Gable, Staff Writer:
Joey Logano.
Phil Allaway, Newsletter Editor:
I like underdog picks here at Talladega.  I’m going with Landon Cassill.
Corey Brewer, Contributor: Chase Elliott.
Joseph Wolkin, Assistant Editor:
Jeffrey Earnhardt because YOLO.

Hollywood Casino 400

WriterPickFinishing PositionPoints
Bryan Gable Kevin Harvick1st5
Huston LadnerCarl Edwards2nd3
Jeff MeyerCarl Edwards2nd3
Jeff WolfeJoey Logano3rd3
Danny PetersJimmie Johnson4th3
Sean FeskoKyle Busch5th3
Corey BrewerKyle Busch5th3
Mark HowellKyle Busch5th3
Amy HendersonMatt Kenseth9th1
Aaron BeardenMatt Kenseth9th1
Joseph WolkinRyan Blaney*14th0
Dustin AlbinoDenny Hamlin15th0
Vito PuglieseDenny Hamlin15th0
Zach CatanzaretiTrevor Bayne*17th0
Clayton CaldwellChase Elliott31st-2
Dan GreeneJamie McMurray*37th-3
Tony LumbisJamie McMurray*37th-3



 WriterPointsBehindStartsWinsTop 5Top 10
Jeff Wolfe453151419
Clayton Caldwell44-13051018
Tony Lumbis43-23031216
Bryan Gable43-22631319
Jeff Meyer41-42811317
Vito Pugliese33-12313819
Dustin Albino33-12274916
Huston Ladner30-15271815
Danny Peters28-172731016
Dan Greene26-19311817
Corey Brewer23-22171812
Mark Howell21-242621012
Sean Fesko21-24302813
Amy Henderson19-26313816
Jason Schultz16-2916159
Zach Catanzareti12-3329148
Aaron Bearden12-33140412
John Douglas11-343133
Mike Neff8-3710046
Phil Allaway5-4012134
Jerry Jordan4-412012
Tom Bowles3-422011
Summer Bedgood1-441001
Joseph Wolkin-1-4631149
Matt Stallknecht-1-465003
Kevin Rutherford-2-473000
Greg Davis-3-485001
Michael Finley-8-536000


Support Frontstretch on Patreon

About Frontstretch Staff

Frontstretch Staff
The Frontstretch Staff is made up of a group of talented men and women spread out all over the United States and Canada. Residing in 15 states throughout the country, plus Ontario, and widely ranging in age, the staff showcases a wide variety of diverse opinions that will keep you coming back for more week in and week out.

Check Also

Michael Self Returns to Venturini Motorsports in 2020 ARCA Menards Series

Michael Self will again drive the No. 25 Toyota full-time for Venturini Motorsports in the …