Race Weekend Central

Entry List: Road America 120

On Saturday, the IMSA Continental Tire SportsCar Challenge will be back in action for a two-hour sprint race at Road America.  32 teams are currently entered in the race.

In Grand Sport, TeamTGM is back, but with only one of their two Porsches.  The No. 4 will run with Guy Cosmo and Hugh Plumb at the wheel.  Team owner/driver Ted Giovanis recently had surgery following a practice crash at Canadian Tire Motorsports Park that resulted in the team withdrawing from the weekend there.

Motorsport in Action has entered both of their McLarens and intends to race them for the first time since June.  The No. 68 will be shared by Rod Randall and Kenny Wilden.  As a result, the No. 68 will not be available as a backup car for C360R.  C360R has fought overheating problems on their No. 77 recently.  Those issues forced the team to borrow the No. 68 at both Canadian Tire Motorsports Park and Lime Rock for drivers Matthew Keegan and Nico Rondet to race.

Mühlner Motorsports America has an all-new driver lineup for this weekend in the No. 21 Porsche.  Replacing Cameron Lawrence and Chuck Quinton are Moritz Kranz and Gabriele Piana.  Kranz has fairly limited experience, but he competed for Mühlner Motorsports at the Nürburgring earlier this year in a similar Porsche.  Piana actually was part of Black Falcon’s SP10-class winning effort at the 24 Hours Nürburgring earlier this year in a similar Porsche.

Finally, Automatic Racing also has a new driver lineup for this weekend.  Charles Espenlaub and Charles Putman will drive the No. 99 Aston Martin.  The two have been teammates previously with Fall-Line Motorsports in both the Continental Tire SportsCar Challenge and in the WeatherTech SportsCar Championship back in 2014.

In Street Tuner, Devin Jones is not entered in the No. 31 Bodymotion Racing Porsche Cayman this weekend.  There is a good reason for that.  Jones will make his XFINITY Series debut Saturday at Watkins Glen for SS-Green Light Racing.  The Zippo 200 will finish right around the time the Road America 120 starts.

On the original entry list, Bodymotion Racing tapped Jason Rabe to replace Jones.  Rabe was Jones’ former teammate in the No. 31, last seen winning the ST class pole at Road Atlanta last September.  However, the updated entry list now has Colin Thompson in the car.  Thompson is the current point leader in IMSA Prototype Challenge (not to be confused with the Prototype Challenge class in the IMSA WeatherTech SportsCar Championship).  Thompson is also a past IMSA Porsche GT3 Cup champion and competed in Pirelli World Challenge last year for K-PAX Racing.

Freedom Autosport’s Britt Casey Jr. has yet another new co-driver, his fourth of the year.  This time, it is Tom Long that will serve as Casey’s co-driver, replacing Matthew Fassnacht.  Long formerly raced full-time for Freedom Autosport and has won with the team in the past.  Quite simply, Long doesn’t have a ride for the weekend since the Mazda RT24-Ps have been parked for the year.

There are two other driver changes of note.  For MINI JCW Team, Chris Miller is listed as a driver of the No. 52 MINI, replacing Mark Pombo.  Miller is part-time in the IMSA WeatherTech SportsCar Championship, serving as the third driver for JDC/Miller MotorSports in the Prototype class.  Finally, Justin Piscitell is back in Murillo Racing’s No. 65 Porsche Cayman, replacing Brent Mosing.

Entry List: IMSA Continental Tire SportsCar Challenge at Road America

Class Team Drivers Car
Grand Sport 3 - The Racers Group Craig Lyons
Kris Wilson
Aston Martin Vantage GT4
Grand Sport 4 - TeamTGM Guy Cosmo
Hugh Plumb
Porsche Cayman GT4 Clubsport MR
Grand Sport 7 - VOLT Racing Alan Brynjolfsson
Chris Hall
Ford Mustang GT4
Grand Sport 12 - Bodymotion Racing Cameron Cassels
Trent Hindman
Porsche Cayman GT4 Clubsport
Street Tuner 17 - Rennsport One Nick Galante
Spencer Pumpelly
Porsche Cayman
Street Tuner 18 - Rennsport One Connor Bloum
Aurora Straus
Porsche Cayman
Grand Sport 21 - Mühlner Motorsports America Moritz Kranz
Gabriele Piana
Porsche Cayman GT4 Clubsport
Street Tuner 25 - Freedom Autosport Stevan McAleer
Chad McCumbee
Mazda MX-5
Street Tuner 26 - Freedom Autosport Andrew Carbonell
Liam Dwyer
Mazda MX-5
Street Tuner 27 - Freedom Autosport Britt Casey Jr.
Tom Long
Mazda MX-5
Grand Sport 28 - Rennsport One Dillon Machavern
Dylan Murcott
Porsche Cayman GT4 Clubsport MR
Street Tuner 31 - Bodymotion Racing Drake Kemper
Colin Thompson
Porsche Cayman
Grand Sport 33 - CJ Wilson Racing Till Bechtolsheimer
Marc Miller
Porsche Cayman GT4 Clubsport
Street Tuner 34 - Murillo Racing Christopher Stone
Christian Szymczak
Mazda MX-5
Grand Sport 35 - CJ Wilson Racing Damien Faulkner
Russell Ward
Porsche Cayman GT4 Clubsport
Street Tuner 37 - MINI JCW Team Mike LaMarra
James Vance
Street Tuner 44 - CRG-I Do Borrow Sarah Cattaneo
Owen Trinkler
Nissan Altima Coupe
Street Tuner 52 - MINI JCW Team Chris Miller
Nate Norenberg
Street Tuner 54 - JDC/Miller MotorSports Michael Johnson
Stephen Simpson
BMW 228i
Street Tuner 56 - Murillo Racing Eric Foss
Jeff Mosing
Porsche Cayman
Grand Sport 57 - Stevenson Motorsports Matt Bell
Robin Liddell
Chevrolet Camaro GT4.R
Grand Sport 59 - KohR Motorsports Dean Martin
Jack Roush Jr.
Ford Mustang GT4
Street Tuner 65 - Murillo Racing Justin Piscitell
Tim Probert
Porsche Cayman
Grand Sport 68 - Motorsports in Action Rod Randall
Kenny Wilden
McLaren 570S GT4
Grand Sport 69 - Motorsports in Action Chris Green
Jesse Lazare
McLaren 570S GT4
Street Tuner 73 - MINI JCW Team Derek Jones
Mat Pombo
Street Tuner 75 - C360R Roy Block
Pierre Kleinubing
Audi S3
Grand Sport 76 - C360R Paul Holton
Matt Plumb
McLaren 570S GT4
Grand Sport 77 - C360R Matthew Keegan
Nico Rondet
McLaren 570S GT4
Street Tuner 81 - BimmerWorld Racing Ari Balogh
Greg Liefooghe
BMW 328i
Street Tuner 84 - BimmerWorld Racing James Clay
Tyler Cooke
BMW 328i
Grand Sport 99 - Automatic Racing Charles Espenlaub
Charles Putman
Aston Martin Vantage GT4

About the author

Phil Allaway has three primary roles at Frontstretch. He's the manager of the site's FREE e-mail newsletter that publishes Monday-Friday and occasionally on weekends. He keeps TV broadcasters honest with weekly editions of Couch Potato Tuesday and serves as the site's Sports Car racing editor.

Outside of Frontstretch, Phil is the press officer for Lebanon Valley Speedway in West Lebanon, N.Y. He covers all the action on the high-banked dirt track from regular DIRTcar Modified racing to occasional visits from touring series such as the Super DIRTcar Series.

Share this article

Sign up for the Frontstretch Newsletter

A daily email update (Monday through Friday) providing racing news, commentary, features, and information from Frontstretch.com