Race Weekend Central

Monster Energy NASCAR Cup Series Entry List: Can-Am 500

The Monster Energy NASCAR Cup Series heads west this weekend to Phoenix International Raceway for the 30th annual Can-Am 500. It’s an elimination race in the Round of 8 as this event sets the Championship 4 for Homestead-Miami Speedway.

Coming off last weekend’s late-race pass of Martin Truex Jr. at Texas Motor Speedway, Kevin Harvick has his spot reserved. Kyle Busch and Truex have also clinched a place in that quartet on points. That leaves five drivers fighting tooth and nail for one final playoff spot.

The preliminary entry list for the penultimate race has 40 teams, meaning the field will be at full capacity, barring any entry list changes.

Some notables on this week’s list include Derrike Cope and StarCom Racing attempting to qualify in the No. 00 Chevrolet. It’s just the team’s second race this season after debuting at Kansas last month.

Joey Gase will again pilot the No. 7 Chevrolet for Tommy Baldwin Racing a second straight week. (It’s an effort that has merged with Premium Motorsports.) Canadian DJ Kennington will run the No. 15 for Premium while rookie Corey LaJoie slides into the No. 23 for BK Racing.

No driver is currently listed for two cars: the No. 51 Rick Ware Racing entry and the No. 83 BK Racing entry. The remainder of the field remains relatively unchanged.

The green flag for the Can-Am 500 is scheduled to fly at approximately 2:45 p.m. ET on Sunday afternoon from PIR. Joey Logano is the defending winner of the event.

Television coverage will be provided by NBC.

Check below for the full entry list

Entry Car Number Driver Sponsor Manu Organization
1 00 Derrike Cope StarCom Fiber, LLC Chevrolet StarCom Racing
2 1 Jamie McMurray Cessna Chevrolet Chip Ganassi Racing
3 2 Brad Keselowski Miller Lite Ford Team Penske
4 3 Austin Dillon Realtree Chevrolet Richard Childress Racing
5 4 Kevin Harvick Busch Light Ford Stewart-Haas Racing
6 5 Kasey Kahne Farmers Insurance Chevrolet Hendrick Motorsports
7 6 Trevor Bayne Ford EcoBoost Ford Roush Fenway Racing
8 7 Joey Gase (i) TBD Chevrolet Tommy Baldwin Racing
9 10 Danica Patrick Code 3 Associates Ford Stewart-Haas Racing
10 11 Denny Hamlin FedEx Ground Toyota Joe Gibbs Racing
11 13 Ty Dillon GEICO Military Chevrolet Germain Racing
12 14 Clint Bowyer USA Network Damnation Ford Stewart-Haas Racing
13 15 DJ Kennington Northern Provincial Pipelines LTD Chevrolet Premium Motorsports
14 17 Ricky Stenhouse Jr. Robert Yates Tribute Ford Roush Fenway Racing
15 18 Kyle Busch M&M's Caramel Toyota Joe Gibbs Racing
16 19 Daniel Suarez STANLEY Toyota Joe Gibbs Racing
17 20 Matt Kenseth Circle K Toyota Joe Gibbs Racing
18 21 Ryan Blaney SKF/Quick Lane Tire & Auto Center Ford Wood Brothers Racing
19 22 Joey Logano Shell Pennzoil Ford Team Penske
20 23 Corey LaJoie Fresh Beards Toyota BK Racing
21 24 Chase Elliott Hooters Chevrolet Hendrick Motorsports
22 27 Paul Menard Duracell/Menards Chevrolet Richard Childress Racing
23 31 Ryan Newman Caterpillar Chevrolet Richard Childress Racing
24 32 Matt DiBenedetto Can-Am/Kappa Ford GO FAS Racing
25 33 Jeffrey Earnhardt hulu Chevrolet Circle Sport/TMG
26 34 Landon Cassill Love's Travel Stops/Roller Bites Ford Front Row Motorsports
27 37 Chris Buescher Clorox Chevrolet JTG Daugherty Racing
28 38 David Ragan 1000Bulbs.com Ford Front Row Motorsports
29 41 Kurt Busch Monster Energy/Haas Automation Ford Stewart-Haas Racing
30 42 Kyle Larson Refresh Your Car! Chevrolet Chip Ganassi Racing
31 43 Aric Almirola United States Ait Force Ford Richard Petty Motorsports
32 47 AJ Allmendinger Fry's Clicklist Chevrolet JTG Daugherty Racing
33 48 Jimmie Johnson Lowe's Chevrolet Hendrick Motorsports
34 51 TBA Rick Ware Racing Chevrolet Rick Ware Racing
35 72 Cole Whitt TriStar Motorsports Chevrolet TriStar Motorsports
36 77 Erik Jones 5-hour ENERGY Extra Strength Toyota Furniture Row Racing
37 78 Martin Truex Jr. Auto-Owners Insurance Toyota Furniture Row Racing
38 83 TBD TBD Toyota BK Racing
39 88 Dale Earnhardt Jr. Nationwide Chevrolet Hendrick Motorsports
40 95 Michael McDowell Rohto Jolt Eyedrops Chevrolet Leavine Family Racing

About the author

Davey is in his fifth season with Frontstretch and currently serves as a multimedia editor and reporter. He authors the "NASCAR Mailbox" column, spearheads the site's video content and hosts the Frontstretch Podcast weekly. He's covered the K&N Pro Series and ARCA extensively for NASCAR.com and currently serves as an associate producer for SiriusXM NASCAR Radio and production assistant for NBC Sports Washington. Follow him on Twitter @DaveyCenter.

Share this article

Inline Feedbacks
View all comments

Kez or Blaney, it’s go time, let’s get a win for Penske or Wood Bros.


Kyle Busch WON at Martinsville in the Round of 8, he did not point his way in to Homestead, he WON!!!

Sign up for the Frontstretch Newsletter

A daily email update (Monday through Friday) providing racing news, commentary, features, and information from Frontstretch.com