Enterprise: Race in and get the same deals drivers and teams use
NASCAR Race Weekend Central

NASCAR Reveals Eligible Drivers for the Advance Auto Parts Clash

Twenty drivers will be eligible to compete in the season-opening Advance Auto Parts Clash at Daytona International Speedway in the Monster Energy NASCAR Cup Series, NASCAR announced Monday (Dec. 11).

For the first time, the Clash is scheduled to be run the same day as Daytona 500 qualifying, Feb. 11. Last season was the first time it ran on Sunday after rain on Saturday night forced it to be postponed.

The race will feature drivers who won Coors Light Pole Awards during 2017, former winners of the event, former Daytona 500 pole winners and drivers who competed in the 2017 Monster Energy NASCAR Cup Series playoffs.

As such, the eligible drivers include 14 racers who won poles in 2017: Ryan Blaney, Kurt Busch, Kyle Busch, Dale Earnhardt Jr., Chase Elliott, Denny Hamlin, Kevin Harvick, Erik Jones, Matt Kenseth, Brad Keselowski, Kyle Larson, Joey Logano, Ricky Stenhouse Jr. and Martin Truex Jr.

Meanwhile, Austin Dillon, Jimmie Johnson and Danica Patrick qualify for the race as former Daytona 500 pole winners, and rounding out the field will be 2017 playoff drivers Kasey Kahne, Jamie McMurray and Ryan Newman.

Three of the 20 drivers retired from full-time competition at the end of 2017, with Earnhardt telling media earlier this year that he wouldn’t run the Clash. Meanwhile, Kenseth and Patrick are still without an announced ride for 2018, though Patrick has stated that she plans to attempt the Daytona 500 — but neither has elaborated on their plans for the Clash.

Logano won the event in 2017.

Share this article

1 Comment
Inline Feedbacks
View all comments
Frank Barnard

This may sound unimportant but I want to know what COLOR IS THE #21 Going TO BE in 2018 with MENARD driving???