(Photo: Nigel Kinrade / NKP)

Dale Earnhardt Jr., Charlize Theron & Peyton Manning Announced for Daytona 500 Grand Marshal, Pace Car Roles

Big events, especially in sports, tend to draw celebrities in an attempt to attract casual viewers. That will continue at Sunday’s 60th annual Daytona 500, as the Monster Energy NASCAR Cup Series gets underway for 2018 with actress Charlize Theron as the honorary starter, waving the green flag before the race, while former NFL quarterback Peyton Manning will drive the pace car.

Theron has starred in many movies,  portraying Candy in The Cider House Rules, Furiosa in Mad Max: Fury Road and Cipher in The Fate of the Furious.  She will star in the upcoming film Gringo in March.

Two-time Daytona 500 champion and 15-time MENCS Most Popular Driver Dale Earnhardt Jr. will serve as the grand marshal, giving the opening command.

Manning won two Super Bowls in his 18-year NFL career for the Indianapolis Colts and Denver Broncos, winning league MVP five times and being named to 14 Pro Bowls. He holds the records for most touchdowns thrown in a season with 55, most career touchdowns thrown with 539, most passing yards in a season with 5,477 and most total passing yards with 71,940.

Non-football fans will recognize him from his numerous commercial appearances, including the MasterCard “Priceless Pep Talk” ad campaign and the current “Jingle Sessions” ads for Nationwide Insurance with country music superstar Brad Paisley. Manning was also the honorary starter for the 2007 Indianapolis 500.

Sign up for the Frontstretch Newsletter
I agree to have my personal information transfered to AWeber ( more information )
A daily email update (Monday through Friday) providing racing news, commentary, features, and information from Frontstretch.com
We hate spam. Your email address will not be sold or shared with anyone else.

Wesley has been with Fronstretch since October 2017. He loves well-told stories in whatever format he finds them. Aside from NASCAR, he enjoys reading, country music and OKC Thunder basketball. He has a BA in Liberal Arts/English and currently lives in eastern Oklahoma, where he works as a freelance writer/editor.

Support Frontstretch on Patreon

Check Also

Jimmie Johnson To Miss 2020 Brickyard 400 After Positive COVID-19 Test

Seven-time NASCAR Cup Series champion Jimmie Johnson has tested positive for COVID-19. Johnson, the first-known …

Entry List: 2020 Quaker State 400 at Kentucky

As NASCAR prepares to head to the Bluegrass state, 38 NASCAR Cup Series cars are …


  1. Avatar

    Shouldn’t Manning be grand marshal and Ralph III drive the pace car?