Home / Christian Koelle / Justin Allgaier Wins DC Solar 200 Pole at ISM
(Photo: Russell LaBounty / NKP)

Justin Allgaier Wins DC Solar 200 Pole at ISM

Justin Allgaier earned his sixth career pole in the NASCAR XFINITY Series on Saturday (March 10).

Allgaier will lead the field to green later today in the DC Solar 200 at ISM Raceway, the race he won last season. The pole position is his first since Charlotte Motor Speedway last May.

Allgaier turned a 26.896-second lap (133.849 mph) in the final round of qualifying to obtain the pole ahead of Brad Keselowski.

Cole Custer, who qualified third, turned the fastest laps in the first and second rounds. The Joe Gibbs Racing Toyotas of Christopher Bell and Kyle Busch rounded out the top five.

In his return to the series, Jamie McMurray will start the race from sixth, followed by Ryan Truex and Daniel Hemric. Matt Tifft and Brandon Jones rounded out the top 10.

The session was only slowed once for an accident in the first round involving Tyler Reddick. Reddick will join his JR Motorsports teammate Elliott Sadler at the rear of the field. Sadler changed an engine after his first engine blew in the first session of practice on Friday.

39 of the 40 drivers turned at least one lap in qualifying. With only 40 drivers entered, no one failed to qualify.


The DC Solar 200 will be live on FOX later today (March 10) with pre-race coverage beginning at 3:30 p.m. ET. The race itself will go green around 4 p.m. ET. The Motor Racing Network and SiriusXM NASCAR Channel 90 will broadcast the race live.


Support Frontstretch on Patreon

About Christian Koelle

Christian Koelle
Christian Koelle returns to Fronstretch in 2018 after joining the organization in late 2017. He is looking to write full-time this season with Frontstretch. Along with Motorsports Christian also covers Minor League Baseball, with a focus on the Southern League. His second passion is baseball. He and his family reside in Ooltewah, TN, a town just outside of Chattanooga.

Check Also

Bret Holmes Set to Return to ARCA Full-Time in 2019

Bret Holmes will return to the ARCA Racing Series presented by Menards full-time in 2019. …