Home / Wesley Coburn / Austin Cindric Takes XFINITY Pole at Mid-Ohio
(Photo: Zach Catanzareti)

Austin Cindric Takes XFINITY Pole at Mid-Ohio

Driving the same car that Sam Hornish Jr. won the race with last year, Austin Cindric put the No. 22 Team Penske Ford Mustang on the pole for the NASCAR XFINITY Series’ Rock N Roll Tequila 170 at the Mid-Ohio Sports Car Course Saturday morning (Aug. 11), with a lap of 96.388 mph.

Qualifying was in two rounds, with the top 12 fastest advancing.

Advancing to the second round were Austin Cindric, Cole Custer, Brandon Jones, Justin Allgaier, Elliott Sadler, Matt Tifft, Christopher Bell, Daniel Hemric, Kyle Benjamin, Ryan Truex, road course specialst Andy Lally and Ryan Reed.

British sports car racer Katherine Legge starts her XFINITY Series debut in 22nd, and road-course ace Justin Marks begins in 23rd, piloting the Chip Ganassi Racing No. 42 this week.

Since only 40 cars were entered, everyone made the race.

Starting alongside Cindric on the front row will be Sadler’s Chevrolet Camaro at 95.792 mph. In the second row will be Jones as the highest Toyota Camry (95.740 mph) and Custer’s Ford (95.596 mph), while row three will be made up of the Chevys of Tifft (95.549 mph) and Truex (95.295 mph).

Seventh and eighth went to the Chevys of Allgaier (95.270 mph) and Lally (95.251 mph), ninth and 10 to championship contenders Hemric (95.178 mph) and Bell (95.176 mph), and spots 11 and 12 to Reed (95.059 mph) and Benjamin (94.847 mph).

The Rock N Roll Tequila 170 will go green this afternoon at 3 p.m. ET, with TV coverage on NBCSN.

Support Frontstretch on Patreon

About Wesley Coburn

Wesley Coburn
Wesley has been with Fronstretch since October 2017. He loves well-told stories in whatever format he finds them. Aside from NASCAR, he enjoys reading, country music and OKC Thunder basketball. He has a BA in Liberal Arts/English and currently lives in eastern Oklahoma, where he works as a freelance writer/editor.

Check Also

Who’s Hot & Who’s Not in NASCAR: That Southern California Glow

In case you missed it, Kyle Busch won the Monster Energy NASCAR Cup Series’ Auto …