(Photo: NKP)

Todd Gilliland Wins Truck Series Pole at Texas

With pressure coming from his boss about his and his teammate Harrison Burton‘s 2019 Gander Outdoors truck Series performance, Todd Gilliland delivered for his Kyle Busch Motorsports team as he won the pole for the 23rd Annual SpeedyCash.com 400 at Texas Motor Speedway.

Gilliland ran a lap of 184.761 mph, which was fast enough for his second career pole in the Truck Series.

Johnny Sauter will start second, followed by his Thorsport teammate Grant Enfinger right behind him in third. Brett Moffitt will start fourth with Austin Hill rounding out the Top 5.

Greg Biffle, making his return to the Truck Series since 2001, will be starting sixth. Sheldon Creed will roll off seventh, with Tyler Ankrum, Kyle Benjamin and Matt Crafton filling the top 10.

Ross Chastain, who declared for Truck Series points earlier this week, was entered late in the week in a third Niece Motorsports truck but that didn’t stop him from showing speed as he will try and win his second truck race of the season from the 15th starting spot.

Ted Minor was the only driver who failed to qualify as there were 33 trucks in Texas for 32 spots.

The 23rd Annual SpeedyCash.com 400 will air LIVE on FS1, at 9:00 PM ET.


Support Frontstretch on Patreon

About Bryan Nolen

Bryan Nolen currently goes to the Dan Patrick School of Sportscasting at Full Sail. He would like to be involved in some aspect of Motor Sports after he completes school. He hosts a podcast that is on Apple Podcasts and Google Play called Sports Talk with Bryan and TB and lives in Boise, Idaho. Follow him on Twitter @TheBryanNolen

Check Also

Frontstretch Podcast: Best of 2019 & 2010s

In a fun offseason Frontstretch Podcast, Dustin Albino and Mike Neff discuss the best of 2019 and …


  1. Avatar

    Just qualifying, what happens between the flags is what Kyle will be watching.

  2. Avatar

    Just qualifying, and game over for Todd. way too early in the race. Kyle is not happy at all.