Home / Joy Tomlinson / Chandler Smith, Sheldon Creed Top Truck Practices at Iowa
(Photo: Nigel Kinrade Photography)

Chandler Smith, Sheldon Creed Top Truck Practices at Iowa

Frontstretch’s Truck Series content is presented by American Trucks

The Gander Outdoors Truck Series teams prepared their trucks in two practice sessions Saturday (June 15) before the M&MS 200 at Iowa Speedway. Chandler Smith and Sheldon Creed led the way in each session.

Practice 1

Kyle Busch Motorsports and GMS Racing took half of the top 10 spots in the first practice session. Smith, who won the ARCA race last night at Madison International Speedway, posted a fastest single lap time of 136.046 mph. Recent Iowa winner Brett Moffitt was second quickest, with  Raphael Lessard close behind in third. Moffitt’s GMS teammate Creed had the fourth fastest lap, as Harrison Burton rounded out the top five.

Tyler Dippel‘s No. 02 truck showed speed late in his run and was sixth quickest. Hattori Racing’s Austin Hill, ThorSport Racing’s Matt Crafton and Stewart Friesen were seventh through ninth. KBM rounded out the top 10 with the No. 4 truck of Todd Gilliland.

All 32 trucks that are entered for the race turned laps in this session, though Tyler Ankrum and Norm Benning only ran four and five laps, respectively.

Friesen led the 15 drivers who made a run of 10 consecutive laps, with an average lap speed of 130.772 mph. Creed and Smith were the other two drivers to average above 130 mph.


Practice 2

In the second session, a variety of teams found their way to the top of the charts. Creed posted the quickest time of 23.458, the only driver to top 134 mph. Lessard and Hill came behind Creed in second and third. Burton and Moffitt rounded out the top five.

ThorSport teammates Ben Rhodes and Johnny Sauter were sixth and seventh and were the final two drivers above 133 mph. Burton’s KBM cohort Riley Herbst, Friesen and On Point Motorsports driver Brennan Poole filled the top 10.

Again, all 32 drivers posted times in the session; this time, 18 drivers ran 10 consecutive laps and Kansas winner Ross Chastain led the way with an average speed of 131.133 mph. Creed, Sauter, Rhodes, and Smith posted the next fastest 10-lap averages, all above 130 mph.


Qualifying will be at 5:35pm ET on Fox Sports 2. The M&MS 200 will air Saturday at 8:30pm ET on Fox Sports 1.

Support Frontstretch on Patreon

About Joy Tomlinson


Check Also

Frontstretch Podcast: Ryan Newman Relives Top 10 Run at Kentucky

In this week’s edition of the Frontstretch Podcast, Dustin Albino and Mike Neff discuss a long, hot weekend of …