Ever wonder how race teams get great rental car rates? Now you can, too! Find out more.
Enterprise and National: Here to serve your company's needs

NASCAR Race Weekend Central

NASCAR 101: Road Course Winners Without Wins Anywhere Else

You may have heard of a road course ringer: a non-NASCAR driver who is brought in to the series solely for his road-course skills. However, not all drivers who only have a road-course win have been part-timers. Some have been Monster Energy Cup, Xfinity, and Gander Outdoors Truck Series regulars.

NASCAR has an extensive road course history, dating back 70 years ago to Daytona Beach. The Cup Series first began racing at this weekend’s track, Watkins Glen International, in 1957. Sunday’s Go Bowling at the Glen will be the series’ 37th event there. The Xfinity Series has held 25 races there since 1991, and the Truck Series ran five events from 1996-2000.

As a whole, all three series have been to 20 road courses. The Cup Series currently only races on three courses: Sonoma, Watkins Glen, and the Charlotte ROVAL. The Xfinity series also goes to Watkins Glen and the Charlotte Motor Speedway Road Course, as well as Road America and Mid-Ohio. The trucks only hold their such type of event at Canadian Tire Motorsports Park.

Below are all the drivers that obtained their lone national series victories at road courses. Only three drivers still race in NASCAR, two of those being full-time.


Harold Kite

  • Cup Series:
    1950 Daytona Beach and Road Course

Chuck Stevenson

  • Cup Series:
    1956 Willow Springs Speedway

Dan Gurney

  • Cup Series:
    1963-66, 1968 Riverside International Raceway

Ray Elder

  • Cup Series:
    1971-72 Riverside

Mark Donohue

  • Cup Series:
    1973 Riverside



Ron Fellows

  • Xfinity:
    1998, 2000-01 Watkins Glen International;
    2008 Circuit Gilles Villeneuve
  • Trucks:
    1997, 1999 Watkins Glen

Boris Said

  • Xfinity:
    2010 Circuit Gilles Villeneuve
  • Trucks:
    1998 Sonoma Raceway

Juan Pablo Montoya

  • Cup:
    2007 Sonoma
    2010 Watkins Glen
  • Xfinity:
    2007 Autodromo Hermanos Rodriguez

Marcos Ambrose

  • Cup:
    2011-12 Watkins Glen
  • Xfinity:
    2008-10, 14 Watkins Glen
    2011 Circuit Gilles Villeneuve

A.J. Allmendinger

  • Cup:
    2014 Watkins Glen
  • Xfinity:
    2013 Road America
    2013 Mid-Ohio Sports Car Course

Michael McDowell

  • Xfinity:
    2016 Road America

Justin Marks

  • Xfinity:
    2016 Mid-Ohio

Austin Cindric

  • Trucks:
    2017 Canadian Tire Motorsports Park

Jeremy Clements

  • Xfinity:
    2017 Road America

Share this article

Thanks for choosing to comment on this article. A name and email address are required to post a comment. The email address is not publicly visible or shared. Please keep in mind that comments are moderated according to our comment policy.

4 thoughts on “NASCAR 101: Road Course Winners Without Wins Anywhere Else”

Comments are closed.