(Photo: NKP)

Alex Bowman, Chase Elliott Top Watkins Glen Practices

It was all Hendrick Motorsports at the top of the charts in the pair of Monster Energy NASCAR Cup Series practices on Saturday (Aug. 3).

Alex Bowman was fastest in the opening session with a speed of 125.888 miles per hour. He passed Kyle Busch (125.786 mph) late in the session, who finished the session in second. Busch’s Joe Gibbs Racing teammate Denny Hamlin (125.643 mph) was third quickest, while the Chevrolets of Chase Elliott (125.623 mph) and Kyle Larson (125.568 mph) rounded out the top five.

There was one incident in the opening session: Matt Tifft (121.791 mph) spun but didn’t hit anything. Tifft was 32nd in the practice.

Practice 1 Results

Elliott led the field in final practice with a speed of 126.901 mph. He posted the lap while doing a mock qualifying run and was the only car all day to run a lap in under 70 seconds.

The top four ran all did mock qualifying runs: Martin Truex Jr. (125.418 mph), Matt DiBenedetto (125.391 mph) and Michael McDowell (125.259 mph). Busch (125.074 mph) was the fastest car that ran in race trim in fifth.

The GoBowling at The Glen is Sunday, Aug. 3, at 3 p.m. and will air on NBCSN.

Final Practice Results

Sign up for the Frontstretch Newsletter
I agree to have my personal information transfered to AWeber ( more information )
A daily email update (Monday through Friday) providing racing news, commentary, features, and information from Frontstretch.com
We hate spam. Your email address will not be sold or shared with anyone else.

Michael Massie is a writer for Frontstretch. Massie, a Richmond, Va. native, has been a NASCAR superfan since childhood, when he frequented races at Richmond International Raceway. Massie is a lover of short track racing and travels around to the ones in his region. Outside of motorsports, the Virginia Tech grad can be seen cheering on his beloved Hokies.

Support Frontstretch on Patreon

Check Also

GMR Grand Prix

2020 GMR Grand Prix: Simon Pagenaud ‘Definitely Thinking Championship’

The 2020 GMR Grand Prix is Simon Pagenaud‘s race to lose. The Team Penske driver …

Chandler Smith Dominates 2020 Calypso Lemonade 200 to Score Back-to-Back ARCA Wins at Lucas Oil Raceway

Bob Schacht was the first to do it in 1984 and ’85. On Friday night, …