NASCAR Race Weekend Central
(Photo: Nigel Kinrade Photo)

Matt Crafton Wins Talladega Truck Pole

Frontstretch’s Truck Series content is presented by American Trucks

Matt Crafton won his first pole at a superspeedway Saturday, winning the pole for the 2019 Sugarlands Shine 250 at Talladega Superspeedway in the NASCAR Gander Outdoors Truck Series on Oct. 12.

Crafton won the pole with the fastest speed of 180.925 mph.

Tyler Ankrum will start second in his first race at a superspeedway. The rookie driver posted a speed of 180.881 mph. Both Crafton and Ankrum are Round of 6 drivers.

After completing the fastest lap in the opening practice session, Harrison Burton qualified third fastest.

Johnny Sauter and Sheldon Creed round out the starting top five.

Of the other playoff drivers, Brett Moffitt will start eighth, Stewart Friesen will start 10th, Austin Hill will start 13th and Ross Chastain will start 17th. The Sugarlands Shine 250 is the first race in the Round of 6.

No drivers failed to qualify.

Sugarlands Shine 250 Starting Lineup

The Sugarlands Shine 250 will consist of 94 laps. The first stage will end at lap 20 and the second stage will end at lap 40. The race is scheduled to begin at 1:30 pm ET with TV coverage provided by Fox Sports 1.

Sign up for the Frontstretch Newsletter
I agree to have my personal information transfered to AWeber ( more information )
A daily email update (Monday through Friday) providing racing news, commentary, features, and information from
We hate spam. Your email address will not be sold or shared with anyone else.

About Mark Kristl

Mark Kristl
Mark joined Frontstretch at the beginning of the 2019 NASCAR season. He is an Eagle Scout & a proud University of Dayton alum. He also writes about NASCAR for Beyond the Flag.