Ever wonder how race teams get great rental car rates? Now you can, too! Find out more.
Enterprise and National: Here to serve your company's needs

NASCAR Race Weekend Central

Entry List: 2020 Darlington 400

NASCAR is back.

The official entry list for the Darlington 400 scheduled for May 17 has been released. The Darlington Raceway contest marks the first event in the NASCAR Cup Series since the race at Pheonix Raceway nearly two months ago due to the COVID-19 pandemic.

40 drivers are entered, which means all will qualify, baring any late entry list changes.

Ryan Newman returns to the seat of his No. 6 Roush Fenway Racing Ford. Newman missed three NCS events after being injured on the final lap of the 2020 Daytona 500. Ross Chastain, who subbed for Newman, will not compete in any Cup ride this weekend.

Also returning to NASCAR competition is 2003 NCS champion Matt Kenseth. Kenseth will wheel the No. 42 Chip Ganassi Racing Chevrolet following the termination of Kyle Larson due to his use of a racial slur during an iRacing event.

Tommy Baldwin Racing is returning to Cup competition after a lengthy absence. Josh Bilicki will pilot TBR’s familiar No. 7 Chevrolet. Brennan Poole will stay in his familiar No. 15 entry, but an ownership change is apparent, as Rick Ware Racing has inherited the Premium Motorsports operation.

RWR’s familiar drivers will also swap rides. Joey Gase moves into the No. 51 entry while Garrett Smithley slides into the No. 52. JJ Yeley moves from the No. 52 to the No. 53.

Reed Sorenson will again wheel the No. 77 Chevrolet for Spire Motorsports. Sorenson has made three starts in that ride this season.

Finally, NASCAR welcomes a new team to the series as BJ McLeod Motorsports expands its operation from the NASCAR Xfinity Series to include a Cup entry. Team owner BJ McLeod is listed as the driver.

Complete Darlington 400 Entry List

The green flag for the Darlington 400 is set to drop at 3:30 p.m. ET on Sunday, May 17. FOX will provide live television coverage.

Share this article