Ever wonder how race teams get great rental car rates? Now you can, too! Find out more.
Enterprise and National: Here to serve your company's needs

NASCAR Race Weekend Central

Ross Chastain, Garrett Smithley to Compete for Niece Motorsports at Charlotte

Frontstretch’s Truck Series content is presented by American Trucks

Niece Motorsports will field four trucks when the NASCAR Gander RV & Outdoors Truck Series returns to competition at Charlotte Motor Speedway on Tuesday, May 26.

Garrett Smithley will make his debut with the team in the No. 40 Chevrolet with sponsorship from Trophy Tractor. Additionally, Ross Chastain will drive a fourth truck in his third Truck Series start of the year. Circle Track Warehouse and Florida Watermelon Association will be aboard the No. 42 Chevrolet.

Smithley’s last Truck Series start came in March of last year. He has eight total series starts, including one at Charlotte.

“I’m excited to join Niece Motorsports and am looking forward to getting back behind the wheel of one of these trucks,” Smithley said in a team release.  “This is always a really fun and competitive series to race in, and I’m looking forward to the challenge.  I appreciate the support of everyone at Trophy Tractor.  Without them, we wouldn’t be able to do what we love to do.”

Chastain switched from the Xfinity Series to Trucks in 2019 and won three races for Niece. He also earned 10 top fives, 19 top 10s and was the runner-up in the standings.

“I’m thrilled to get back to the track with Niece Motorsports at Charlotte Motor Speedway, especially in this Circle Track Warehouse and Florida Watermelon Association paint scheme,” Chastain said. “I’ve missed being behind the wheel of these NASCAR racecars and race trucks and am really looking forward to Tuesday night’s race.  We are definitely missing the fans, but it’s exciting to be able to return to racing in some capacity.”

Chastain and Smithley join full-time driver Ty Majeski and Natalie Decker at Charlotte.

The trucks are set to begin racing at Charlotte on Tuesday, May 26 at 8 p.m. ET. Television coverage will be provided by Fox Sports 1.

Share this article