NASCAR Race Weekend Central
(Photo: NKP)

Eligibility for 2021 Busch Clash Revealed

The eligibility requirements have been announced for the NASCAR Cup Series 2021 Busch Clash at the Daytona International Speedway road course.

NASCAR changed the format to set the starting lineup for most races in 2020 due to the COVID-19 pandemic.

The Busch Clash at DAYTONA, which had Busch Pole Awards winners in previous years, will have different criteria for next season’s event. These criteria are:

-2020 Busch Pole Award winners

-Past Busch Clash Winners who ran full time in 2020

-Daytona 500 winners who ran full time in 2020

-Former Daytona 500 pole winners who ran full time in 2020

-2020 Cup Playoff drivers

-2020 Cup race winners

-2020 Cup Stage winners

These 24 drivers are eligible for the Busch Clash:

-Aric Almirola

-Ryan Blaney

-Alex Bowman

-Clint Bowyer

-Chris Buescher

-Kurt Busch

-Kyle Busch

-William Byron

-Cole Custer

-Matt DiBenedetto

-Austin Dillon

-Ty Dillon

-Chase Elliott

-Denny Hamlin

-Kevin Harvick

-Jimmie Johnson

-Erik Jones

-Matt Kenseth

-Brad Keselowski

-Joey Logano

-Ryan Newman

-Tyler Reddick

-Ricky Stenhouse Jr.

-Martin Truex Jr.

The Busch Clash at DAYTONA is set to run on Feb. 9 at night.

Sign up for the Frontstretch Newsletter
I agree to have my personal information transfered to AWeber ( more information )
A daily email update (Monday through Friday) providing racing news, commentary, features, and information from
We hate spam. Your email address will not be sold or shared with anyone else.

About Joy Tomlinson



  1. Avatar

    well i was wondering how they were going to determine this as there hasn’t been a legit pole winner since march.

    this should be an interesting mess to start off the new year. be interesting to see of bowyer, kenseth and johnson race. does ty dillon have a ride yet?

  2. Avatar

    Why don’t they just let everyone participate?

  3. Avatar

    Why not take the top 24 in POINTS and not someone who can qualify from 15 years ago?

  4. Avatar

    This race lost me a few years ago when a two-time Cup champion lowered himself to take a start-and-park ride.

  5. Avatar

    The top 24 in POINTS would let Bubba in. I can’t believe they haven’t found any way to get the Comcast Community Champion Of The Year into the Clash. But they would have to make sure there wasn’t a “noose” in the garage area.

Leave a Reply

We're glad you have chosen to leave a comment. Please keep in mind that comments are moderated according to our comment policy.