Ever wonder how race teams get great rental car rates? Now you can, too! Find out more.
Enterprise and National: Here to serve your company's needs

NASCAR Race Weekend Central

Johnny Sauter Nabs Daytona Truck Pole

Frontstretch’s Truck Series content is presented by American Trucks

Johnny Sauter is the fastest trucker in Daytona.

Sauter’s No. 13 ThorSport Racing Ford was the fastest qualifier of the whopping 46 NASCAR Camping World Truck Series entries attempting to qualify for tonight’s (Feb. 12) NextEra Energy Resources 250 at Daytona International Speedway.

The Wisconsin native posted a speed of 180.79 mph, good enough to start on the front row alongside last year’s Truck champion Sheldon Creed who clocked in at 180.29 mph in his No. 2 Chevrolet.

Grant Enfinger, Chase Purdy and Raphael Lessard round out the top five starters.

Several trucks encountered trouble during the session.

James Buescher‘s time was disallowed after he crossed the double yellow line attempting to get a draft from a Hailie Deegan‘s truck who was slow on the apron after she had already completed her lap. Buescher has to use the past champion’s provisional to claim the final spot on the grid.

Clay Greenfield was slated to be the first qualifier on the track, but his Toyota failed to fire on the gird. Once the 36-year-old finally did get on track, the No. 68 lost power on the high banks before he could post a time. Greenfield had to rely on owner points to get in the field and did not qualify.

Tim Viens was also not so lucky. The 44-year-old did not post a time either after the entire drive shaft of his No. 83 Chevrolet fell out of the truck on pit road. With not enough owner’s points, Viens did not qualify to race.

Along with Viens and Greenfield, Jesse Iwuji, Joe Nemechek, Parker Kligerman, Todd Peck, Ray Ciccarelli, Norm Benning and Dawson Cram did not qualify.

Daytona Truck Starting Lineup

The NextEra Energy Resources 250 is set to go green tonight, February 12 at 7:30 p.m. ET with TV coverage provided by Fox Sports 1.