Race Weekend Central

Scott McLaughlin On IndyCar Pole at Portland

Scott McLaughlin began the NTT IndyCar Series’ final two-race push in style, driving his Team Penske-powered Chevrolet to the pole at Portland International Raceway Saturday (Sept. 3)

“Credit to everyone at Team Penske,” McLaughlin told NBC Sports after getting out of his car. “We weren’t great here last year. We came back here with three hot rods […] we’re all pushing each other. Will [Power], [Josef Newgarden] and myself. To get pole is a great thing.”

McLaughlin wasn’t wrong when looking at the final grid order. Newgarden qualified second and Power was third, making it a Team Penske 1-2-3 at the top of the grid. However, Newgarden will take a six position grid penalty for taking a new engine unit, due to IndyCar’s strict four engine limit per RACER.

Also making round three of qualifying were Christian Lundgaard (fourth), Alex Palou (fifth) and Pato O’Ward (sixth). There were no wrecks or accidents in any of the qualifying sessions.

Round 2

Felix Rosenqvist (seventh), Colton Herta (eighth), Alexander Rossi (ninth), David Malukas (10th), Graham Rahal (11th) and Rinus VeeKay (12th) were unable to end the session in the top six to move on to the final round of qualifying.

Round 1 – Group One

Herta put on a flying lap and was able to just barely get into the top six in the final moment of the session to knock out Kyle Kirkwood, but damaged his car and had to change the toe link and front wing between sessions. Kirkwood (13th), Romain Grosjean (15th), Jack Harvey (17th), Simon Pagenaud (19th), Helio Castroneves (21st) and Jimmie Johnson (23rd) were all eliminated in this session.

Round 1 – Group Two

Callum Illott (14th), Scott Dixon (16th), Marcus Ericsson (18th), Conor Daly (20th), Takuma Sato (22nd), Devlin DeFrancesco (24th) and Dalton Kellett (25th) all did not advance out of this session.

The Grand Prix of Portland, the penultimate round of the 2022 IndyCar season, will be broadcast by NBC (and simulcast on Peacock) on Sunday, Sept. 4. The race will begin at 3 p.m. ET.

Grand Prix of Portland Starting Grid

  1. Scott McLaughlin
  2. Will Power
  3. Christian Lundgaard
  4. Alex Palou
  5. Pato O’Ward
  6. Felix Rosenqvist
  7. Colton Herta
  8. Josef Newgarden
  9. Alexander Rossi
  10. David Malukas
  11. Graham Rahal
  12. Rinus VeeKay
  13. Kyle Kirkwood
  14. Callum Ilott
  15. Romain Grosjean
  16. Scott Dixon
  17. Jack Harvey
  18. Marcus Ericsson
  19. Simon Pagenaud
  20. Conor Daly
  21. Helio Castroneves
  22. Takuma Sato
  23. Jimmie Johnson
  24. Devlin DeFrancesco
  25. Dalton Kellett



About the author

Michael has watched NASCAR for 20 years and regularly covered the sport from 2013-2021. He moved on to Formula 1, IndyCar, and SRX coverage for the site, while still putting a toe in the water from time-to-time back into the NASCAR pool.

Share this article

Sign up for the Frontstretch Newsletter

A daily email update (Monday through Friday) providing racing news, commentary, features, and information from Frontstretch.com