Race Weekend Central

Tearing Apart the Trucks: Kentucky’s Championship Effect

That’s right. The Truck Series boasts seven winners and counting to begin the 2012 season. If you take out the two Cup drivers who have won–Kevin Harvick and Kasey Kahne–you’ve got truck regulars, including three first-time winners–John King, James Buescher and Justin Lofton–that have taken the checkers in the other five races.

James Buescher because the first repeat winner this season with his victory Thursday night in the UNOH 225 and it was definitely a win the Turner Motorsports driver earned. Having started third, the driver of the No. 31 Chevrolet led three times for 119 of 150 laps en route to his second career victory.

Truckin’ Thursdays: Who’s Next? Three Drivers Vying for First Series Win

*Who Will Be The Next First-Time Winner?*

In “Mirror Driving on Wednesday,”:https://frontstretch.com/md/39793/ the question of which driver will become the next first-time winner came up. Suggestions from Ty Dillon, the current Sunoco Rookie of the Year leader to Joey Coulter, who scored his career-best finish Friday night at Texas Motor Speedway, so I decided to take a closer look at those who are just about to break through to victory lane.

Tracking the Trucks: WinStar World Casino 400

*In a Nutshell:* Johnny Sauter took the checkered flag 2.101 seconds ahead of teammate Matt Crafton to score the victory at Texas Motor Speedway in Friday night’s WinStar World Casino 400. Sauter led twice for just 41 laps en route to his first career victory at the mile-and-a-half track. Joey Coulter, Brendan Gaughan and Nelson Piquet, Jr. rounded out the top 5.

Miguel Paludo, International Diabetes Federation Team Up for Awareness

When the Camping World Truck Series takes the track Friday night for the WinStar World Casino 400 at Texas Motor Speedway, Miguel Paludo’s No. 32 Turner Motorsports Chevrolet will have a completely different look. In an effort to raise more awareness for diabetes, the Brazilian, who has been named as the most recent–a first South American–Blue Circle Champion for the International Diabetes Federation (IDF), will run a “Unite for Diabetes” paint scheme this weekend.

IDF is an umbrella organization that encompasses over 200 diabetes associations covering more than 160 countries all over the world. Their mission is to “promote diabetes care, prevention and a cure worldwide.” Founded in 1950, IDF has united organizations worldwide that are all united for one purpose: finding a cure.

Truckin’ Thursdays: A Trio Of “Texas-Sized” Favorites For 2012

The Camping World Truck Series once again descends on Texas Motor Speedway for this Friday night’s WinStar World Casino 500K. While the entry list is only 34 Trucks long, three drivers who have combined to win 13 of the last 20 events (65 percent) at the 1.5-mile oval are looking to add to their totals this week.

Leading the pack with six victories at Texas, *Todd Bodine* comes in with momentum on his side after a rain-shortened victory at Dover last weekend. The Onion wasn’t the strongest truck on the track, even spinning out midrace and likely wouldn’t have visited Victory Lane if it hadn’t been for pit strategy. But a win is a win, no matter how you score it and it’s amazing what a trophy can do for the attitudes within a race team. Just one race removed from a suspension of the team’s No. 7 truck, Bodine still needs financial support to finish the season and that “survivor instinct” can now be paired with the confidence this team can finish first. Besides, I’d be willing to bet the Red Horse Racing driver would like to have a win that doesn’t come thanks to rain.

Tracking the Trucks: Lucas Oil 200

*In a Nutshell:* Todd Bodine scored his first victory of the year in Friday evening’s rain-shortened Lucas Oil 200 at Dover International Speedway. The driver of the No. 11 Red Horse Racing Toyota didn’t pit when the rest of the field did following the first red flag for rain and held off charges from Parker Kligerman and Kevin Harvick through two restarts en route to his first career victory at the one-mile oval. Kligerman, Harvick, Nelson Piquet, Jr. and Cale Gale rounded out the top 5.

Truckin’ Thursdays: From King To Canned – Sponsorship Woes Claim Another

As the Camping World Truck Series haulers rolled into Dover International Speedway Wednesday afternoon, one team was notably missing — John King’s No. 7 Red Horse Racing Toyota. The team announced Tuesday that sponsorship issues had forced them to suspend operations of the No. 7 team until further notice, ending a freshman season that had started with such promise. The one area lacking on King’s resume, though, was money, a financial gap that became too big for investors at RHR to close. After running the first two races this year without primary backing, CONSOL Energy funded King at Rockingham, Kansas and Charlotte, but they won’t be returning this weekend at Dover. Still viable with its other two trucks, RHR will continue to field Timothy Peters’ No. 17 and Todd Bodine’s No. 11 entries.

Truckin’ Thursdays: A Look Back at Five Different Victors

For the first time since 2005, the Camping World Truck Series has opened with five different winners and five different events.

Back then, it was Bobby Hamilton, Steve Park, Ron Hornaday, Jr., Bobby Labonte and Ted Musgrave who visited victory lane to open the season. This time around, the winners include Sprint Cup drivers Kevin Harvick and Kasey Kahne, along with three first-time winners–John King, James Buescher and Justin Lofton. While it’s no surprise to see Harvick or Kahne headed to victory lane when they run in the Truck Series, King, Buescher, and Lofton have taken the next step in their NASCAR careers.

Tracking the Trucks: North Carolina Education Lottery 200

*In a Nutshell:* Justin Lofton took the checkered flag 0.261 seconds ahead of Brad Keselowski in Friday night’s North Carolina Education Lottery 200 at Charlotte Motor Speedway. Lofton took the lead for the final time with just ten laps remaining and held on through one more restart to score his first career Camping World Truck Series victory. Todd Bodine, Jason Leffler and Ron Hornaday, Jr. rounded out the top-5 finishers.

Sign up for the Frontstretch Newsletter

A daily email update (Monday through Friday) providing racing news, commentary, features, and information from Frontstretch.com