NASCAR Race Weekend Central

Steinbrenner Racing Joins Forces with Harding Racing for 2019 IndyCar Season


(Photo: Walter Kuhn/IndyCar)

Steinbrenner Racing and Harding Racing will join forces in 2019 to field two entries in the IndyCar Series. Current Steinbrenner Racing driver Colton Herta will pilot the No. 88 entry while 2018 Indy Lights Champion Patricio O’Ward will drive the No. 8. “We are happy to announce that Mike Harding of Harding Racing and George …

Read more

Patricio O’Ward Runs With Giants in IndyCar Debut


(Photo: Danny Peters)

Patricio O’Ward already made a statement in 2018 by picking up nine victories and a championship in the Indy Lights Series. On Sunday, O’Ward added icing to the cake of an impressive season. O’Ward made his Verizon IndyCar Series debut with Harding Racing behind the wheel of the No. 8 Sunday at Sonoma Raceway. He …

Read more

Hunter-Reay Wins Sonoma Pole While O’Ward Stuns With Fast Six Effort

hunter reay sonoma

Photo: Chris Owens / INDYCAR Media

Andretti Autosport driver Ryan Hunter-Reay will start from the pole on Sunday for the Grand Prix of Sonoma. But what really caught the teams’ attention was the performance of Patricio O’Ward, who qualified fifth for the IndyCar Series finale. O’Ward, 19, made the Fast Six in his first ever qualifying session for the series. He …

Read more

Patricio O’Ward Quickly Climbing the Ladder to IndyCar


(Photo: Indy Lights)

In Friday’s Freedom 100, Patricio O’Ward, 19, finished second to Andretti Autosport teammate Colton Herta by .028 seconds. O’Ward entered the race at Indianapolis Motor Speedway with a one-point lead on Herta in the Indy Lights championship but now trails by four points. The Monterrey, Mexico native is running his first full season of Indy …

Read more

Brendon Hartley Fastest in Petit Le Mans Nighttime Practice

2017 Road Atlanta IWSC Brendon Hartley Car Phil Allaway

(Photo: Phil Allaway)

Every year at Road Atlanta, there is a 90-minute that goes into the night so that teams can adjust for late race conditions.  On Thursday night, Tequila Patron ESM’s Brendon Harltey turned in the fastest lap of the weekend to top the nighttime practice session. Hartley’s lap of 72.017 seconds (126.970 mph) was three-tenths of a …

Read more

Juan Pablo Montoya Fastest in Road Atlanta Practice No. 2

2017 Road Atlanta IWSC Simon Pagenaud Car Phil Allaway

(Photo: Phil Allaway)

Team Penske did not take long to make an impression at Road Atlanta.  Juan Pablo Montoya was fastest overall in the second practice session Thursday for the IMSA WeatherTech SportsCar Championship at Road Atlanta.  Montoya set a lap of 72.445 seconds (126.220 mph) to top the charts in the No. 6 ORECA 07-Gibson. Montoya’s lap …

Read more

Pipo Derani, Johannes van Overbeek Win Maiden Race for Nissan DPi

2017 Watkins Glen IWSC Bruno Senna Car Phil Allaway

(Photo: Phil Allaway)

On Sunday afternoon, Tequila Patron ESM’s Pipo Derani assumed the lead during the final yellow when JDC/Miller MotorSports’ Stephen Simpson was forced to pit for emergency service.  From there, Derani was able to pull away to take the first-ever victory for the Ligier-based Nissan DPi. Afterwards, Derani was proud of the team’s accomplishment. “It’s been …

Read more

Ryan Dalziel Fastest in Road America WeatherTech Practice No. 3

2017 Watkins Glen IWSC Pipo Derani Car Phil Allaway

(Photo: Phil Allaway)

On Saturday morning, IMSA WeatherTech SportsCar Championship teams got a fully dry session in which to turn laps in.  Tequila Patron ESM’s Ryan Dalziel was fastest overall with a lap of 113.851 seconds (127.998 mph).  The lap is the fastest of the weekend and nearly two-thirds of a second faster than last year’s pole. Dalziel’s …

Read more

Stephen Simpson Quickest in WeatherTech Road America Practice No. 2

2017 Daytona IWSC Stephen Simpson Car Credit Phil Allaway

(Photo: Phil Allaway)

On Friday afternoon, track conditions continued to improve, allowing teams to run on slicks.  In the second practice session, JDC/Miller MotorSports’ Stephen Simpson was fastest overall with a lap of 115.057 seconds (126.657 mph).  The lap is approximately a half-second off of last year’s pole time. Simpson’s lap was one tenth of a second faster …

Read more

Dane Cameron, Eric Curran Claim Mobil 1 Sportscar Grand Prix Victory

2017 Watkins Glen IWSC Dane Cameron Car Phil Allaway

(Photo: Phil Allaway)

On Sunday afternoon, there were two dominant teams at Canadian Tire Motorsports Park.  Tire strategy and a crash prevented them from winning.  Instead, it was Action Express Racing’s No. 31 Cadillac DPi-V.R. of Dane Cameron and Eric Curran who took the Mobil 1 Sportscar Grand Prix overall victory. To Curran, the overall victory came as …

Read more

Sign up for the Frontstretch Newsletter

A daily email update (Monday through Friday) providing racing news, commentary, features, and information from